Skip to main content
Banner Image

Resource Delivery Services: Distance Students

Distance Patrons Services

For questions about distance delivery contact us at: 1.207.581.1671 or library.ill@maine.edu
 
Ordering books from URSUS for out UMaine campus area patrons
Follow the procedures outlined below in order to obtain items besides e-books. Remember that a valid University of Maine system library card is required to request material. Please contact us if you have any questions.
From the homepage, click on URSUS Library Catalog.
Search by title, author, keyword, subject, etc.
When you find a title you want to request, click on the “REQUEST” option.
Enter your name and barcode number in the boxes, as prompted. In the campus/center/site location box select your site location or choose UXOOS-Out-Of-State and click on the “Submit” button.
Once your request has been properly submitted, you will receive the following message on the screen: “Your request has been successful”; you can now return to the list of other citations, or you can conduct a “New Search” using the main menu at the top right.
The book(s) will be checked out to you and sent to your site location or home address via UPS. The loan period is four weeks, with an additional two-week renewal available upon request.
Book Renewals
1. Click on My Library Account from the URSUS search page. Enter your name and barcode number in the spaces provided, and then click the Display Record button.
Click the link that shows how many items you have checked out.
You may click the “Renew All” button, or check the box next to individual titles and then click “Renew Selected Items.”
You should check to see that the item was actually renewed, with a new due date. Sometimes an item cannot be renewed because it is overdue, another person has requested it, or it has been renewed too many times. If an item cannot be renewed, it should be returned to the library. You can also request renewals through My Library. Account or by calling : 1.207.581.1671.

Book Returns

Return books requested through URSUS on or before the due date using United Parcel Service (UPS), Federal Express, US Postal Service’s 2nd Day Air, or a similar trackable, insured mail carrier. Please ship books directly to the lending library in a well-sealed padded envelope or padded box. Keep your receipts in case books do not make it back to the lending library. You will be billed for overdue books and non-return of library items. Your borrowing privileges may be blocked pending payment. Your shipping receipts will be your only evidence of return if books are lost in the mail or do not arrive back on time.

Request Articles

Request Articles That Are Not Full Text:

Periodicals and more can be requested

Students taking classes through the University of Maine System may obtain photocopies of journal, magazine, and newspaper articles through the campus library with which they are affiliated. 

Obtain An Article That Is Not Full Text:

ArticleLinker provides access to the full-text of articles available in any of the library’s databases.  If the complete article is not available in the database you are searching in, ArticleLinker will tell you if full-text might be available in any of the other online resources.  No more searching different databases to see if an article is available full-text somewhere else!

When do you use it?  Whenever you are searching in a database and the full-text is not available in that database.  Look for the following:

Article Linker icon Click on the Article Linker icon, then the link for your campus.  If the full-text is available, click on the link to get the full-text. If there is no full-text available, you can request the article through your home campus library.

Full-text Articles:

Some articles may be available full-text through the online databases in Mariner. You can print these from your workstation or computer.  Look for the words “HTML Full Text” or “PDF Full Text” to see the text of the article.  You will need Adobe Acrobat (a free download found at adobe.com) loaded on your computer to view the PDF full text.

ILL Distance Patrons Support beyond URSUS and full-text

Create an account in ILLiad and place a request or requests.  One request per electronic form.

For copies: 

Articles or chapters will be processed and a pdf will be created and placed in your account. An email will be sent notifying you that the pdf is available for viewing or download.  The pdf file will remain available for 30 days or 5 downloads.  We encourage you to download and save for future reference and access.

We encourage patrons to request copies of articles or chapters of books whenever possible instead of books.

For books and other hard copy items:

Patron must contact the ILL office to initiate a request to become a distance patron with shipping services. At initial contact staff will discuss with patron shipping options 

Patrons must contact the ILL office to request that the Distance Ship To address be used for specific requests placed with the ILL office. Otherwise requests are processed as normally for the hold shelf at Fogler Library.

​STAFF WILL SHIP ITEM TO CLOSEST DELIVERY SITE TO PATRON.   PATRON WILL BE NOTIFIED OF WHICH DELIVERY LOCATION TO PICK UP AND DROP OFF AT VIA EMAIL. PATRON WILL BE EXPECTED TO PICK UP AND RETURN TO THAT LOCATION.

If there is no delivery location near patron in state or for out-of-state patrons, staff will mail directly to patron by placing appropriate Ship To address on the package and ship using XXX with material tracking. 

PATRON IS EXPECTED TO RETURN THE MATERIAL AT THEIR EXPENSE USING A SHIPPING METHOD THAT INCLUDES TRACKING.  FAILURE TO SHIP WITH TRACKING WILL RESULT IN LOSS OF DELI EVERY SERVICE TO PATRON IN FUTURE.

Patrons are expected to have the material returned to Fogler Library by the due date on the enclosed paperwork or contact the ILL Office to request an extension of the loan.

IF MATERIAL IS LOST IN TRANSIT TO/FROM PATRON OR WHILE IN PATRON’S POSSESSION PATRON WILL BE RESPONSIBLE FOR COST OF THE MATERIAL.


Distance delivery of books and other hardcopy items is NOT AVAILABLE to patrons in greater Bangor, Brewer, Old Town, Orono, Veazie, Hampden, Hermon, Orrington, Eddington, Milford, Glenburn, Corinth, Greenbush, Argyle, Hudson, Clifton, Kenduskeag, Winterport, Dedham areas, or a twenty mile radius of the University of Maine.

 

 

5729 Fogler Library · University of Maine · Orono, ME 04469-5729 ; (207) 581-1673

Chat is offline. Contact the library.