Subject Guides: Anthropology: Biological Anthropology

Potential Resources

Sample subject terms to use in URSUS:

Selection of Reference Books in Biological Anthropology:

There is a wide range of journals in URSUS related to biological/physical anthropology.

To search for others, simply do a journal search here or search for the subject Physical Anthropology--Periodicals.

Anthropology Plus
Covers the literature of anthropology, archaeology, and related fields
BIOSIS Previews
Covers the literature of the biological and biomedical sciences

eSkeletons
Database enables you to view the bones of both human and non-human primates.

PubMed
Includes biomedical and life sciences journals. Most journals are peer-reviewed, but to be certain, you can check a journal's editorial information in Serials Directory, or search the journal's web page for confirmation.

Sociology Collection
Provides access to a wide range of sociology-related research articles.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a variety of research sources in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.

Example keywords:

University of Maine Dissertations & Theses
Provides access to a large number of the UMaine's electronic theses & dissertations, primarily from 1996-present, but with scattered theses prior to this time. Where there is an abstract only, you will find the print dissertation in UMaine's Special Collections Department.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
Searchable citations of dissertations, many with full text available.
DART-Europe E-Theses Portal
Access nearly 600,000 European theses and dissertations.
WorldCat
Online catalog of materials held by over 72,000 libraries worldwide; includes citations of dissertations and theses. Can place an ILL request within WorldCat results.