Skip to Main Content

Molecular & Biomedical Sciences

Background Information

Choosing research topics? Stumped by unfamiliar jargon?
Use the resources below for
background information.

1. General Science

Magill's Survey of Science. Physical Science Series
Call Number: Ref Q 158.5 .M34 1992 v.1-6
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, 6th ed.
Call Number: Ref Q 123 .M15 2003
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, 10th ed.
Call Number: Ref Q 121 .M3 2007 v. 1-20

Oxford Scholarship Online
This is a collection of reference books across disciplines all published by Oxford University Press. Search for your topic to learn more about it.

2. Biological & Biomedical Sciences

Color Atlas of Biochemistry
Call Number: QP514.2 .K6613 2013
ISBN: 9783131003737
Publication Date: 2012-12-12
Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry, 2nd ed.
Publication Date: 2013
Online Resource
Encyclopedia of Biophysics
Publication Date: 2013
Online Resource
Encyclopedia of Immunotoxicology, 2nd ed.
Publication Date: 2015
Online Resource
Encyclopedia of Signaling Molecules, 2nd ed.
Publication Date: 2018
Online Resource
Molecular Life Sciences: An Encyclopedic Reference
Publication Date: 2018
Online Resource
Wiley Encyclopedia of Chemical Biology
Publication Date: 2009
Online Resource

Brenner's Encyclopedia of Genetics, 2nd ed.
Publication Date: 2013
Online Resource
A Dictionary of Genetics, 7th Ed.
Call Number: QH427 .K55 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Encyclopedia of Cell Biology
Publication Date: 2016
Online Resource
Encyclopedia of Metagenomics: Genes, Genomes and Metagenomes; Basics, Methods, Databases and Tools
Publication Date: 2015
Online Resource
Glossary of Biotechnology and Agrobiotechnology Terms, 5th ed.
Publication Date: 2016
Online Resource
Molecular Life Sciences: An Encyclopedic Reference
Publication Date: 2018
Online Resource
Talking Glossary of Genetic Terms
Español

Atlas of Immunology, 3rd. ed.
Call Number: Ref QR 182 .C78 2010
Encyclopedia of AIDS
Publication Date: 2018
Online Resource
Encyclopedia of Immunobiology
Publication Date: 2016
Online Resource
Encyclopedia of Immunotoxicology, 2nd ed.
Publication Date: 2015
Online Resource
Illustrated Dictionary of Immunology, 3rd ed.
Publication Date: 2009
Online Resource

Desk Encyclopedia of Animal and Bacterial Virology
Publication Date: 2010
Online Resource
Desk Encyclopedia of General Virology
Publication Date: 2010
Online Resource
Desk Encyclopedia of Human and Medical Virology
Publication Date: 2010
Online Resource
Desk Encyclopedia of Microbiology, 2nd ed.
Publication Date: 2009
Online Resource
Dictionary of Microbiology and Molecular Biology, 3rd Edition, Revised
Publication Date: 2006
The Dictionary of Virology, 4th ed.
Call Number: Ref QR 358 .M34 2009
Encyclopedia of AIDS
Publication Date: 2018
Online Resource
Encyclopedia of Microbiology, 4th ed.
Publication Date: 2019
Online Resource

3. More Information

Search the URSUS Catalog for UMaine items
(encyclopedias OR dictionaries) AND more specific topic
to find items like

Encyclopedia of Plant Viruses and Viroids
Publication Date: 2019

Example: URSUS Catalog search for Fogler Library encyclopedias or dictionaries about plant viruses

Handbooks, Manuals, & Tables

Bergey's Manual of Determinative Bacteriology by John G. Holt
Call Number: Ref QR 81 .A5 1994
ISBN: 0683006037
Publication Date: 1993-10-09
Bergey's Manual of Systematics of Archaea and Bacteria by William B. Whitman (Editor)
ISBN: 9781118960608
Publication Date: 2015-09-14
Biochemical Pathways by Gerhard Michal (Editor); Dietmar Schomburg (Editor)
ISBN: 9781118657072
Publication Date: 2013-02-12
Collins and Lyne's Microbiological Methods by C. H. Collins; Patricia M. Lyne; J. M. Grange
Call Number: Ref QR 65 .C64 2004
ISBN: 0750606533
Publication Date: 1995-01-23
Color Atlas of Biochemistry by Jan Koolman; Karl-Heinz Roehm
Call Number: Ref QP 514.2 .K6613 2013
ISBN: 9783131003737
Publication Date: 2012-12-12
Handbook of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology by Roger L. Lundblad (Editor); Fiona Macdonald (Editor)
Call Number: Ref QH 345 .H347 2018
ISBN: 9781138033092
Publication Date: 2018-06-25
Handbook of Cell Signaling by Ralph A. Bradshaw (Editor); Edward A. Dennis (Editor)
ISBN: 9780123741455
Publication Date: 2009-11-03

Handbooks, Manuals, & Tables (cont.)

Microbiological Media by Ronald M. Atlas
ISBN: 9781439804063
Publication Date: 2010-03-17
Human Diseases from Wildlife by Michael R. Conover; Rosanna M. Vail
ISBN: 9781466562158
Publication Date: 2014-09-18
Manual of Clinical Microbiology, Eleventh Edition by James H. Jorgensen (Editor); Michael A. Pfaller (Editor); Karen C. Carroll (Editor); Guido Funke (Editor); Marie Louise Landry (Editor); Sandra S. Richter (Editor); David W. Warnock (Editor)
ISBN: 9781555817381
Publication Date: 2015-06-01
Methods for General and Molecular Microbiology by Terry J. Beveridge (Editor); John A. Breznak (Editor); George A. Marzluf (Editor); Thomas M. Schmidt (Editor); L R Snyder (Editor)
ISBN: 9781555812232
Publication Date: 2007-08-17
Practical Handbook of Microbiology by Emanuel Goldman (Editor); Lorrence H. Green (Editor)
ISBN: 9781466587397
Publication Date: 2015-06-04
Zoonoses by Peter Kimmig (Editor); Hans Gerd Schiefer (Editor); Tino Schwarz (Editor); Werner Slenczka (Editor); Horst Zahner (Editor); Rolf Bauerfeind (Editor); Alexander Von Graevenitz (Editor)
ISBN: 9781555819262
Publication Date: 2020-07-24