Skip to main content
Banner Image

Accounting: Databases

The purpose of this LibGuide is to increase the visibility and accessibility of the Fogler Library collections relating to this course.

Access to Databases

Option 1: from library homepage, select Databases, browse Databases A-Z list or select subject topic: Business
Option 2: use the direct link below

Databases in Fogler Library

Scholarly-focused Business Source Complete contains 100+ academic Journals in Accounting and Tax, including Journal of Accounting Research; Accounting Review; Contemporary Accounting Research; Review of Accounting Studies; It also includes 70+ magazines and trade publications in accounting and tax. Articles ranging from auditing, cost accounting, standards, accounting methods and information systems.

Practically-focused Business Insights: Essentials contains 30+ academic journals, 80+ magazines and newsletters in accounting and finance, including Accountancy Age, Accountant; Accounting Today, Financial Times, Management Accounting Quarterly, Tax Adviser; Tax Executive etc.

News and intelligence-focused content includes 60 magazines, newsletters and handbook in accounting and tax, including Accountancy Age (UK), Accountant, Accounting Today, CFO, CPA Practice Advisor, Journal of Taxation of Investments, Journal of Taxation and Regulation of Financial Institutions, The Tax Adviser, The Ultimate Accountants' Reference and more.

Emerald Management Plus includes 40+ Scholarly Journals and books published by Emerald Group Publishing Limited, including Accounting Research Journal, Accounting, Auditing & Accountability Journal, International Journal of Managerial Finance, Journal of Accounting & Organizational Change and Managerial Auditing Journal etc. The content has international coverage and articles ranging from accounting research, accounting history, financial accounting, accounting regulation and accounting systems etc.

ScienceDirect covers 24 Scholarly Journals in Accounting, including Advances in Accounting, Critical Perspectives on Accounting, Journal of Accounting and Economics, Research in Accounting Regulation, The British Accounting Review, Management Accounting Research and more.

Wiley Online Library covers 35 Scholarly Journals in accounting and finance, including Abacus, Accounting and Finance, Accounting Perspective; Journal of Accounting Research, Journal of Business Finance & Accounting, The Journal of Finance etc.

Taylor & Francis online journals covers 16 Scholarly Journals relating to accounting and finance, including Accounting and Business Research, Applied Mathematical Finance, Journal of Behavioral Finance, Quantitative Finance etc.

Jstor covers 15 journals and magazines relating to accounting and finance, including The Accounting Review, The Assurance Magazine, Financial Analysts Journal, Journal of Accounting Research, Quarterly Journal of Finance and Accounting etc.

Econlit covers 14 scholarly journals relating to accounting and tax, including Contemporary Accounting Research, Journal of Accounting Research, Journal of Accounting, Auditing & Finance, Quarterly Journal of Finance & Accounting, Review of Accounting Studies, Review of Quantitative Finance & Accounting etc.

Web of Science provides access to 91 Business Finance Journals from Social Science Citation Index, including 19 Accounting & Finance Journals also appear in Current Content Connects module, which cover journals in accounting and finance. Additional topics include auditing, financial economics, financial intermediation, financial services, international money, portfolio management and taxation.

InCities Journal Citation Reports allows  users to evaluate and compare the impact of journals. Journals can be displayed by subject area (i.e. Business, Finance) and organized by impact factor, total citations to the journal, immediacy index, total number of articles, and cited-half life. Individual journal titles can be searched. JCR indexes over 1,700 journals from the social sciences including 91 Journals in Business Finance. Please read ”Journal Citation Report”- “Using Journal Citation Reports Wisely” from the Help page on the upper right corner of the screen.

Cabell's Directories of Publishing Opportunities as the title describes provides basic information on journals publication opportunities in accounting. It covers 592 accounting journals including journal topics (three topics under accounting, including Accounting Theory & Practice, Accounting Education and Accounting Information System), acceptance rates, number and type of reviewers, time to publication, location and links to the websites of the journals.

Value Line includes Financial Statements (income statement; balance sheet and cash flow) quarterly for past year and annual for past 3 years; it also includes SEC Fillings (Annual Financials (10K); Quarterly Financials (8Q); Current Report (8K) and Prospectus) for past five years if it is available.

Search company name or symbol in the search bar. At the company stock information page, use the navigation bar hidden at the right edge of the page to locate the Financial Statements and SEC filings. For the Financial Statement, expand the column to open a new window to see details.

LexisNexis Academic has a wider coverage of SEC filings and financial statements; while the content coverage, quality and up-to-dateness vary from one company to another.

From homepage, search in Get Company Info to get access to Company Dossier. After seeing the Company Reports, find SEC Filings under Financials on the left column, select Recent SEC filings to see the SEC filings and Click Overview to see basic financial statements.

Standard and Poor’s NetAdvantage includes Financial Statements (income statement; balance sheet and cash flow and ratio report) quarterly for past 3 years and annual for past 10 years if it is available.

Search the company name and after you find the company profile, select Compustat Excel Analytics from the content list, and locate the report column at the top of the page, and change it to the Financial Statements for example Quarterly Balance Sheet, and the click Enlarge view/Printer friendly, it will take a minute to load an Excel Sheet.

The AICPA Professional Library on Checkpoint provides the full text of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants, professional standards, technical practice aids, audit and accounting guides, and audit risk alerts. Once connected to Checkpoint, you can find AICPA content either by selecting Accounting, Audit & Corp Finance from Search Practice Area or by choosing Table of Contents, then Accounting, Audit & Corporate Finance Library.

Checkpoint focuses on federal tax information. It includes Federal Court Decisions; Federal Tax Reports; Tax Court Reported Decisions and Memorandum Decisions; Federal Tax Coordinator 2nd; Citator 2nd; Federal Tax Handbook; and IRS Code, Regulations, Committee Reports, Tax Treaties, Rules and Releases. Coverage of state, local, and international tax information is limited.

Films On Demand is a streaming video platform providing outstanding educational video content. The Accounting content includes 13 videos on accounting principles. The Finance, Accounting & Taxation topic includes 114 titles. After access to the database, select collections-business and economics and find videos about accounting and taxation under Finance, Accounting & Taxation.

Loading ...

Ask Business Librarian

Accounting Databases

Related Resources

5729 Fogler Library · University of Maine · Orono, ME 04469-5729 ; (207) 581-1673

Chat is offline. Contact the library.