Skip to main content
Banner Image

Finding Funding: Funding for Nonprofits

Resources for finding funding opportunities to support research, grants-related projects, and nonprofit programs and services.

Grants & Philanthropy on the Web

NonProfit Explorer

Databases

Fogler Library maintains several computer workstations for the use of all library visitors, in the Information Commons (1st floor, near the east entrance to the library). If you are unaffiliated with the university, you can access these databases by visiting Fogler Library in person and using any of our public computers.

The Foundation Center

The Foundation Center is an extensive source of information on philanthropy worldwide. According to their website, they "maintain the most comprehensive database on U.S. and, increasingly, global grantmakers and their grants." Resources include: searchable archives of Philanthropy News Digest, 990 Finder, Map of International Grants, a virtual classroom with online tutorials for proposal writing, budgeting and more.

Volunteer Resources

Volunteer Match
Volunteer Match is an ever-growing online network of nonprofit organizations and volunteers, and serves as a wellspring of information for nonprofit organizations looking for myriad types of volunteers. They offer resources specific to nonprofits, such as nonprofit partnership initiatives, information on building volunteer programs, and tips for online volunteer recruitment. 

All for Good
A hub for volunteerism and community service on the Internet, All for Good provides the largest online database of volunteer opportunities. You can submit and manage volunteer postings, as well as find and share volunteer opportunities based on location or interests.

GrantSpace Resources
Includes information on finding and managing volunteers, and volunteer match organizations.

boardnetUSA
boardnetUSA is a free online matching service that pairs nonprofit organizations with potential board members, based on the needs of the organization and the interests of individuals seeking nonprofit board service.

5729 Fogler Library · University of Maine · Orono, ME 04469-5729 ; (207) 581-1673

Chat is offline. Contact the library.