Skip to main content
Banner Image

Self-Archiving in Digital Commons: Open Access

The purpose of DigitalCommons@UMaine is to provide long-term access to the scholarly and creative output of University of Maine faculty and staff. Consult this suite of tutorial pages to learn how to archive your work.

Green vs. Gold Open Access

The terms Green and Gold Open Access encompass two specific factors: copyright permissions and the cost of publishing and access. 

Green Open Access indicates the author’s retention of posting privileges in some form to a free, open access repository—most often an Institutional Repository such as DigitalCommons@UMaine or a disciplinary repository.

Gold Open Access refers to publishers of open access journals. The cost of production does not fall to the subscribers but to the authors who submit materials for publication. SpringerOpen  is an example of a well-known publisher offering open access journals that require author fees and provide rigorous peer review.

Gratis Access provides public access, free of charge with all rights-reserved copyright, allowing for fair use.

Libre Access provides access free of charge and free of all copyright restrictions. 

Mandatory Archiving

To maximize dissemination of grant-funded research, an increasing number of agencies mandate that peer-reviewed research products be made freely available to the public by the earliest possible date. To help researchers achieve this goal, Fogler Library oversees management of the University of Maine’s Open Access Institutional Repository, DigitalCommons@UMaine

Similarly, funding organizations are requiring grant recipients to archive research data sets in appropriate public archives to facilitate results validation and support work by other researchers.  The Advanced Computing Group at the University of Maine supports the DMPTool, helping grant applicants create custom data management plans. ACG also offers the Maine Dataverse Network, providing data archiving to UMaine researchers.

For more information about the DMPTool, take a moment to view the embedded video, below.

For more information about Data Management resources available to UMaine researchers, visit our Research Data Management Guide.

Find additional resources and information about scholarly publishing in Open Access.

DMPTool : Data Management Planning

Federal Legislation

In January 2014, U.S. Congress approved a bill to make taxpayer-funded scientific research freely accessible in a digital environment. Learn more about H.R. 3547 the Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2014 (title as of 08/12/2014).

Other proposed legislation that remains pending includes H.R. 708, Fair Access to Technology Research Act and H.R. 3157, Public Access to Public Science Act.

Sherpa/JULIET

Sherpa/JULIET copyright

JULIET is a searchable, collaborative database that provides summaries of funding agencies’ grant conditions on self-archiving research publications and data. Search grant agency conditions in Sherpa/JULIET.

Contact

Kimberly Sawtelle's picture
Kimberly Sawtelle
Contact:
5729 Fogler Library
University of Maine
Orono, ME 04469-5729
Phone: 207-581-1692
Fax: 207-581-1653
Website / Blog Page

Library Hours

Regular Building Hours
(May 13, 2017 – Aug. 27, 2017 )

Monday – Thursday
Friday
Saturday – Sunday
8 am – 9 pm
8 am – 5 pm
10 am – 5 pm

More information on our hours page.

5729 Fogler Library · University of Maine · Orono, ME 04469-5729 ; (207) 581-1673

Chat is offline. Contact the library.