Skip to main content
Banner Image

Hot Topics: Gun Control: Extending Your Research

Extending Your Research

Extending Your Research

Looking to find more information about these topics? This page points you to a variety of scholarly and news articles, and books that we hold in our collection. The articles are updated frequently, and can provide both current events and scholarly analysis. There are also recommended terms to search for within our databases and catalog to help you find more material.

Scholarly Articles

Find scholarly articles by searching our databases and eJournals

Use our databases to find articles by scholars addressing domestic violence.  Search the databases below to find journal articles on your topic.

Most databases will let you limit to scholarly or peer-reviewed journals and articles, so look for the checkbox (you may need to be in the advanced screen).

To learn more about searching for and citing sources, visit our guide Life Hack: Library Research.

Find Scholarly Articles

Search the databases below to find articles. These terms are split up by the topics covered within this guide, and could include variations or combinations of those listed.

  • Gun Legislation, Control & Rights:
    • gun rights, gun control, national rifle association, firearm legislation, firearm regulation, gun regulation, gun violence prevention, gun laws, firearm possession restriction, and second amendment rights
  • School, Youth & Gang Violence:
    • gangs, gang violence, school shootings, youth gun violence, and school violence
  • Mass Shootings & Domestic Terrorism:
    • mass shootings, domestic terrorism, mass murder, and gun crime

Most databases will let you limit to scholarly or peer-reviewed journals and articles, so look for the checkbox (you may need to be in the advanced screen).

Books

Search our catalog for books

Search the library catalog for more books about gun control, violence, and legislation. In addition to the books that we've suggested on on each page, there are many books in our collection that address the many subtopics and issues associated with gun control. 

Below, you will find links to our catalog using different subject terms, so you can explore aspects of this subject in much greater depth. In addition, try your own search terms in the catalog search box below.

URSUS Catalog Search

5729 Fogler Library · University of Maine · Orono, ME 04469-5729 ; (207) 581-1673

Chat is offline. Contact the library.