Accounting, Business, and Finance
Aimed at readers looking to take their career in a new direction, ""Accounting, Business, and Finance"" provides insightful advice and essential tips for career changers. This new, all-in-one guide explores jobs in accounting, business, and finance and features self-assessment questions, further resources, and advice on ways to reach career goals. Careers profiled include: accountant; auditor; bookkeeper; brand manager; claims adjuster; financial analyst; insurance underwriter; loan officer; personal financial advisor; and, stockbroker.
Accounting Demystified by
"Accounting is truly the language of business. Success or failure is measured in dollars, but in order to make good decisions, you need to understand how finances drive business realities and become fluent in the essential elements of the accounting process. ACCOUNTING DEMYSTIFIED tells you all you need to know about the numbers that drive business. The book uses examples of typical business situations to demonstrate basic financial concepts, including: * The accounting process * Financial statements * Making entries * Accounts payable and accounts receivable * Cashflow statements * Fixed and intangible assets * Inventory * Liabilities * Adjusting and closing entries * Prepaid expenses *Preparing a bank reconciliation * Accounting information systems * Stockholders equity * Ratio analysis ACCOUNTING DEMYSTIFIED transforms a complex and potentially intimidating subject into something anyone can easily comprehend. This useful resource helps you understand the basics of accounting and gives you access to an essential part of any business equation. For new students of accounting, entry-level accounting professionals, and business professionals whose own work relates directly to the numbers on the ledger, a basic understanding of core accounting functions and documents is critical. Accounting Demystified provides a simple and straightforward description of universal elements of the accounting process, plus accessible tutorials in creating, interpreting, and using financial statements. Haber's clear language will let readers: * understand accounting basics * find errors quickly * prepare accurate financial statements * analyze financial documents * determine the financial health of a business * prepare a financial prospectus for potential investors and lenders From the classroom to the back room to the board room, Accounting Demystified serves as a valuable primer on the basics of accounting and the purposes they serve."
Fundamental Principles of Accounting by 
Intermediate Accounting for Dummies by
The easy way to master an intermediate accounting course Intermediate accounting courses are required for students seeking bachelor's degrees in accounting and often for degrees in finance, business administration, and management. Intermediate Accounting For Dummies provides you with a deeper and broader level of accounting theory, serving as an excellent course supplement and study guide to help you master the concepts of this challenging program. With easy-to-understand explanations and realworld examples, Intermediate Accounting For Dummies covers all the topics you'll encounter in an intermediate accounting course: the conceptual framework of Generally Accepted Accounting Principles (GAAP), International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS), financial ratio analysis, equity accounting, investment strategies, financial statement preparation, and more Tracks to a typical intermediate accounting curriculum Expert information and real-world examples Other titles from Loughran: Financial Accounting For Dummies and Auditing For Dummies With the help of Intermediate Accounting For Dummies, you'll discover the fast and easy way to take the confusion out of the complex theories and methods associated with a typical intermediate accounting course.
Introduction to Accounting by
The fully revised and updated Third Edition of this textbook provides an accessible introduction to accounting for students coming to the subject for the first time. It embraces the basic techniques and underlying theoretical concepts in accounting and shows how these are applied in various circumstances. This New Edition incorporates major changes which improve and update the previous edition. It can be easily used by students working on their own, as well as in a classroom environment. It provides: - Fully illustrated & worked examples - Student Activities - End of chapter questions, many of which have been taken from major accounting examination bodies. -The solutions to all activities are given at the end of each chapter, and answers to the end of chapter questions are also supplied. Introduction to Accounting is an essential textbook for undergraduate accounting students. It is designed to meet the needs of both the non-specialist and those intending to specialise in accounting at undergraduate and also postgraduate levels. The Solutions Manual will be available via the SAGE website.
Introductory Financial Accounting and Reporting by
Don't panic! The Essential Revision... in a Hurry series provides you with outlines of the key topics you'll need to know to successfully pass your exams. Introductory Financial Accounting and Reporting covers key topics in concise and clear chapters with illustrative examples. Geared towards exam topics, it will help you to master the fundamentals of topics such as: The statement of financial position The income statement Capital and revenue expenditure Depreciation, disposals and revaluation Accruals and prepayments Irrecoverable debts, estimates and provisions It also covers the more complex elements of interpretation of financial statements and preparing financial statements from a trial balance while introducing you to the regulatory frameworks that must be adhered to. Written primarily for undergraduates taking their first course in financial accounting and reporting the book will also be of use to those taking professional exams or as a refresher for students taking higher level accountancy courses that are based on these core topics.
Short Introduction to Accounting by
An introduction to the fundamentals of accounting and how it is used that will help students apply accounting as a usable, everyday business tool. It adopts an intuitive, informal approach to describe basic principles - what they are, why they exist and how they are used - to help students see the connections between different parts of accounting and the rest of the business world. Written by an award-winning teacher and former management accountant, it encourages students to engage with the material by using questions and worked examples to test knowledge and understanding as they read. It includes a glossary of financial terms that is a useful guide to the language of business. Part of the Cambridge Short Introductions series of concise, authoritative guides to core subjects in business and management.
Accountants' Truth: knowledge and ethics in the financial world by
Accounting is the language of business, increasingly standardized across the world through powerful global corporations: a technical skill used to reach the correct, unquestionable answer. Yet, as recent corporate scandals have shown, a whole range of financial professionals (auditors,bankers, analysts, company directors) can collectively fail to question dubious actions. How can this be possible?To understand such failures, this book explores how accountants construct the technical knowledge they deem relevant to decision-making. In doing so, it not only offers a new way to understand deviance and scandals, but also suggests a reappraisal of accounting knowledge which has importantimplications for everyday commercial life.The book's findings are based on interviews with chartered accountants working in the largest accountancy practices in London. The interviews reveal that although accounting decisions seem clear after they have been made, the process of making them is contested and opaque. Yet accountantsnonetheless tend to describe their work as if it were straightforward and technical. Accountants' Truth digs beneath the surface to explore how accountants actually construct knowledge, and draws out the implications of that process with respect to issues such as professionalism, performance,transparency, and ethics.This important book concludes that accountants' technical discourse undermines their ethical reasoning by obscuring the ways in which accounting decisions must be thought through in practice. Accountants with particular ethical perspectives more readily understand and construct particular types ofknowledge, so the two issues of knowledge and of ethics are inseparable. Increasingly technical accounting rules can therefore counterproductive. Instead, our best approach to avoiding future scandals is to redefine and reinvigorate professional ethics in the financial world.
Creative Accounting, Fraud and International Accounting Scandals by
Business scandals are always with us from the South Sea Bubble to Enron and Parmalat. As accounting forms a central element of any business success or failure, the role of accounting is crucial in understanding business scandals. This book aims to explore the role of accounting, particularly creative accounting and fraud, in business scandals. The book is divided into three parts. In Part A the background and context of creative accounting and fraud is explored. Part B looks at a series of international accounting scandals and Part C draws some themes and implications from the country studies.
Smoke and Mirrors, Inc: accounting for capitalism by
Enron, Arthur Andersen, Parmalat, AIG: business headlines over the last few years have stimulated worldwide interest in accounting responsibilities and standards. Smoke and Mirrors, Inc., is a remarkable introduction to contemporary accounting and its central importance for the operation of modern capitalism. Nicolas Véron, Matthieu Autret, and Alfred Galichon show how accounting always mirrored the features of contemporaneous financial systems, while remaining intrinsically subject to judgment and uncertainty and thus leaving scope for manipulation that can convert a rotten balance sheet into a picture of robust financial health. Beginning with the story of the fictional company Smoke & Mirrors Inc., Véron and his coauthors provide a brief history of accounting's emergence and its key concepts and practices. They then shift their focus to the political economy of the various actors involved in the preparation, auditing, and use of financial information and the new challenges facing regulators as capital markets spread across national boundaries. The authors challenge widespread beliefs that accounting practices are neutral and involve the mere reporting of objective data. They trace how different accounting standards, which alter the calculus of what counts as a "fair representation" of business dealings, can change economic behavior. Along the way they provide numerous examples and case studies, including a detailed account of the tricks with which Enron cooked its books. For students of corporate finance, practicing accountants and businesspeople, and general readers who have followed a seemingly endless parade of financial scandals with disbelief, Smoke and Mirrors, Inc., provides a clear and concise overview of the use and abuse of accounting and of the underlying changes in today's capital markets.
Accounting for Investments, Volume 2 by
A comprehensive guide to new and existing accounting practices for fixed income securities and interest rate derivatives The financial crisis forced accounting standard setters and market regulators around the globe to come up with new proposals for modifying existing practices for investment accounting. Accounting for Investments, Volume 2: Fixed Income and Interest Rate Derivatives covers these revised standards, as well as those not yet implemented, in detail. Beginning with an overview of the financial products affected by these changes--defining each product, the way it is structured, its advantages and disadvantages, and the different events in the trade life cycle--the book then examines the information that anyone, person or institution, holding fixed income security and interest rate investments must record. Offers a comprehensive overview of financial products including fixed income and interest rate derivatives like interest rate swaps, caps, floors, collars, cross currency swaps, and more Follows the trade life cycle of each product Explains how new and anticipated changes in investment accounting affect the investment world Accurately recording and reporting investments across financial products requires extensive knowledge both of new and existing practices, and Accounting for Investments, Volume 2, Fixed Income Securities and Interest Rate Derivatives covers this important topic in-depth, making it an invaluable resource for professional and novice accountants alike.
Accounting for Real Estate Transactions by
Accounting for Real Estate Transactions, Second Edition is an up-to-date, comprehensive reference guide, specifically written to help professionals understand and apply the accounting rules relating to real estate transactions. This book provides financial professionals with a powerful tool to evaluate the accounting consequences of specific deals, enabling them to structure transactions with the accounting consequences in mind, and to account for them in accordance with US GAAP. Accountants and auditors are provided with major concepts, clear and concise explanations of real estate accounting rules, detailed applications of US GAAP, flowcharts, and exhaustive cross-references of the authoritative literature.
The AMA Handbook of Financial Risk Management by
In this indispensable book from the industry-leading American Management Association, financial expert John Hampton offers game-changing tips for dealing with the most important areas of financial decision-making. Filled with strategies, principles, and measurement techniques, The AMA Handbook of Financial Risk Management shows readers how to categorize financial risks, reduce risks from cash flow and budget exposures, analyze operating risks, understand the interrelationship of risk and return, manage risks in capital investment decisions, determine the value of common stock, and optimize debt in the capital structure. Engaging and detailed explanations and practical applications enable anyone involved in the financial management of an organization to recognize the factors at stake and the solutions that would produce the best organizational outcomes. Managing financial risk boils down to understanding how to reduce a complex business environment into workable concepts and models. This strategic guide shows you how to make these individual decisions with the big picture in mind.
Analysis of Financial Statements by
The fully update Third Edition of the most trusted book on financial statement analysis Recent financial events have taught us to take a more critical look at the financial disclosures provides by companies. In the Third Edition of Analysis of Financial Statements, Pamela Peterson-Drake and Frank Fabozzi once again team up to provide a practical guide to understanding and interpreting financial statements. Written to reflect current market conditions, this reliable resource will help analysts and investors use these disclosures to assess a company's financial health and risks. Throughout Analysis of Financial Statements, Third Edition, the authors demonstrate the nuts and bolts of financial analysis by applying the techniques to actual companies. Along the way, they tackle the changing complexities in the area of financial statement analysis and provide an up-to-date perspective of new acts of legislation and events that have shaped the field. Addresses changes to U.S. and international accounting standards, as well as innovations in the areas of credit risk models and factor models Includes examples, guidance, and an incorporation of information pertaining to recent events in the accounting/analysis community Covers issues of transparency, cash flow, income reporting, and much more Whether evaluating a company's financial information or figuring valuation for M&A's, analyzing financial statements is essential for both professional investors and corporate finance executives. The Third Edition of Analysis of Financial Statements contains valuable insights that can help you excel at this endeavor.
Annual Reports 101 by
An annual report is a powerful and revealing document about a company's financial standing. If you know what you're looking for, it can give you substantial insight about where the company may be headed in the future. But to the untrained eye, the annual report may seem like walls of accounting technicalities provided to fill up space between the glossy photos and the upbeat "Message from the CEO.' Annual Reports 101 gets past the PR machine to show the meaning behind the spin. This ultra-practical guide shows you how to thoroughly translate and read "between the lines' of the balance sheet, income statement, cash flow report, and the accompanying text. The book helps you get a true sense of the ""big picture"" behind the company, allowing you to move beyond the numbers themselves and the fluffy, PR-driven copy. Before you know it, you'll have the tools to spot red flags, decipher footnotes, and see past common practices that, while legal, may not give the most accurate picture.With all the recent high-profile accounting scandals that have rocked the business world, companies are being careful about complying with the law. But that doesn't mean they are making it any easier for you to understand what they're reporting. With Annual Reports 101, you'll have the key to a treasure trove of company information - and a clear path through the hype." "
The Comprehensive Guide on How to Read a Financial Report by
A comprehensive guide to reading and understanding financial reports Financial reports provide vital information to investors, lenders, and managers. Yet, the financial statements in a financial report seem to be written in a foreign language that only accountants can understand. This comprehensive version of How to Read a Financial Report breaks through that language barrier, clears away the fog, and offers a plain-English user's guide to financial reports. The book features new information on the move toward separate financial and accounting reporting standards for private companies, the emergence of websites offering financial information, pending changes in the auditor's report language and what this means to investors, and requirements for XBRL tagging in reporting to the SEC, among other topics. Makes it easy to understand what financial reports really say Updated to include the latest information financial reporting standards and regulatory changes Written by an author team with a combined 50-plus years of experience in financial accounting This comprehensive edition includes an ancillary website containing valuable additional resources With this comprehensive version of How to Read a Financial Report, investors will find everything they need to fully understand the profit, cash flow, and financial condition of any business.
Foreign Currency Financial Reporting from Euro to Yen to Yuan by
The first A-to-Z guide for successfully working in foreign currency environments Destined to become an essential desktop tool helping professionals build a solid foundation in the background, history, and fundamental mechanics of foreign currency and exchange rates, this must-have guide allows you to report past transactions accurately and also to forecast the impacts that volatile exchange rates could have on your business. Packed with everything you need to know about exchange rate requirements, including world currency formats and key links to additional resources, this is the single source you'll want to have at your side to understand and successfully use foreign currency reporting concepts. Get from Yen to Euro without losing your way Clarifies an intimidating topic into practical application Helps you function effectively in the multicurrency reporting environment Addresses common points of confusion Demystifies IFRS Your company could swing from profit to loss without a single change in operations, simply by movement of exchange rates. Get ready with the on-the-spot foreign currency answers you need in Foreign Currency Financial Reporting from Euro to Yen to Yuan. It's the easy-to-use, definitive source you can turn to for a clear, concise, practical understanding of multicurrency environments.
Wiley CPA Exam Review 2012 by
Everything today's CPA candidates need to pass the CPA Exam Published annually, this comprehensive four-volume paperback reviews all four parts of the CPA exam. Many of the questions are taken directly from previous CPA exams. With 3,800 multiple-choice questions, these study guides provide all the information candidates need to master in order to pass the computerized Uniform CPA Examination. Its unique modular format helps you zero in on those areas that need more attention and organize your study program. Complete sample exam The most effective system available to prepare for the CPA exam--proven for over thirty years Timely--up-to-the-minute coverage for the computerized exam Contains all current AICPA content requirements in auditing and attestation; business environment and concepts; financial accounting and reporting; and regulation Unique modular format--helps candidates zero in on areas that need work, organize their study program, and concentrate their efforts Comprehensive questions--over 3,800 multiple-choice questions and their solutions in the four volumes Guidelines, pointers, and tips--show how to build knowledge in a logical and reinforcing way Other titles by Whittington: Audit Sampling: An Introduction, Fifth Edition Wiley CPA Exam Review 2012 arms test-takers with detailed outlines, study guidelines, and skill-building problems to help candidates identify, focus on, and master the specific topics that need the most work.
CPA Exam for Dummies with Online Practice by
Get started on the path to passing the CPA exam today Passing the CPA exam can be the first step to a long and rewarding career. With CPA Exam For Dummies, you'll get a full overview of the exam, information on how to register, the requirements for taking and passing the tests, as well as a review of the four sections. This comprehensive introductory study guide provides you with a wealth of information, including all the current AICPA content requirements in auditing and attestation, business environment and concepts, financial accounting and reporting, and accounting regulation. From start to finish, the text is designed to prepare you for each portion of this rigorous exam. Preparing for the CPA exam can be a daunting process. With the classic For Dummies approach, CPA Exam For Dummies offers an overview and steps on how to get started. Go at your own pace to master the various sections of the exam, and use the book as a reference on an ongoing basis as you prepare for the exam portions. Dive into the book to find: An overview of the CPA exam, featuring exam organization and information on scoring A content review, including practice questions and explanations of answers Online bonus practice exams to boost your knowledge and confidence An overview of the benefits of passing the CPA exam and becoming a certified public accountant For those seeking to pass the CPA exam and launch their accounting careers, CPA Exam For Dummies is the go-to resource for getting started!
Wiley CPAexcel Exam Review 2015 by
The world's most effective CPA exam prep system ? Regulation module Wiley CPAexcel Exam Review is the world's most trusted study guide for the Certified Public Accountant's exam ? complete, comprehensive, and updated to align with the latest exam content. With 2,800 practice questions and solutions across four volumes, the unique modular format helps you organize your study program, zeroing in on areas that need work. This volume, Regulation, contains all current AICPA content requirements, providing total coverage of this section of the exam. You get the detailed outlines and study tips, simulation and multiple choice questions, and skill-building problems that have made this guide the most effective CPA prep system for over thirty years. The uniform CPA exam is updated annually to include new laws, regulations, and guidelines, so it's important that your study guide be up to date as well. Wiley CPAexcel Exam Review is updated annually to reflect the latest version of the exam, and is the number-one bestselling CPA study guide in the world because it provides full, comprehensive coverage of all exam content, and more practice questions than any other guide ? many of which are taken directly from past exams. The unique format allows you to: Identify, target, and master problem areas section by section Learn how to logically build your knowledge stores for better recall Practice with thousands of sample questions taken from past exams Review all exam content, including the newest guidelines and regulations No one wants surprises on exam day, and thorough preparation is the key to successful performance. Whether you're embarking on a new study program, or just need a quick refresher before the exam, Wiley CPAexcel Exam Review is proven to be the most current, complete, comprehensive prep you can get.