Every department has a subject librarian who is available for one-on-one research assistance as well as individual class instruction. Use the link above to find your subject librarian. We look forward to working with you!
Graduate students are able to check out up to 500 books at a time for a semester-long loan. Exceptions are Special Collections materials, materials from other libraries that have shorter checkout periods, and recalled items.
Fogler Library is a regional depository for U.S. Government publications. We are a selective depository for Canadian materials, and we have United Nations documents. For government documents assistance, you can email email@example.com.
The Fogler Library Interlibrary Loan Department works with other libraries and information providers to obtain research materials not held by Fogler Library (e.g., pdf copies of journal articles or book chapters). This service is free for students, faculty, and staff.
Fogler Library has a number of lockers available for loan each semester. The lockers are located on the first and third floors of the building and are reserved for University of Maine students and faculty.
Interested in the most recent materials acquired by Fogler Library? You will find monthly lists that you can sort according to call number (or search by keyword). Many materials in Communication Studies and Journalism are located in the P and PN call numbers.
A wide format printer is available that will support graphic and image printing up to maximum 42 inches. There is an IT Consultant available to provide support, troubleshooting, and assistance during open hours.
Use databases to find articles, conference papers, technical reports, datasets, and more in your subject area. Your subject librarian can help you address any questions about these databases.
Having trouble accessing an article? When you hit a paywall on the open web, or an error message in one of our databases, try the following:
Clear your browser's cache. This trick works well to clear up small technical issues. Find out more information about cached data here.
Article Linker is a tool that can help you find the full text of an article you've discovered in one of our databases. See a tutorial for Article Linker here: Article Linker Tutorial.
If none of the above works (or if Article Linker isn't showing up), you can directly access a journal by searching for the journal title in the URSUS Catalog. Open the catalog in a new window, then cut and paste the journal title in the search bar. Follow the links until you find the journal, and then search for the article title within the journal to access the full text.
If we don't subscribe to a particular journal, you can see if there is a legally available, open access copy of an article in the UnPaywall database. If there's not a legally available, open access copy, you can request the article for free through Interlibrary Loan.
If you still have problems accessing the material you want, Ask a Librarian! We can help you figure out next steps.
The Ursus Libraries Proxy Bookmarklet allows you to quickly and easily access restricted journal articles and other electronic resources you find when doing research outside of the University's website. For example, if you are doing your research via Google, and you find a link to a resource that is only available for a fee, the proxy bookmarklet will reload the page through the University's proxy server and provide you with full text access to the resource if we subscribe to it.
Want to access Fogler Library resources when searching Google Scholar, and avoid the dreaded page that asks you to pay to access an article? This quick and easy guide will walk you through the process of setting up library links.
Search for Books
URSUS University of Maine System library catalog, that also includes holdings from the Bangor Public Library, Maine State Library, Maine State Archives, and Maine State Law & Legislative Reference Library
MaineCat Maine statewide catalog. You can place requests for items within MaineCat to have them delivered to UMaine.
WorldCat WorldCat is a catalog of materials held in libraries worldwide. You can place Interlibrary Loan (ILL) requests for items within WorldCat to have them delivered to UMaine.
Find Theses & Dissertations
For detailed information on the Thesis & Dissertations available through Fogler Library, the Thesis & Dissertations Research Guide is a great place to start. Below are some of the key databases outlined on the Thesis & Dissertations Guide:
Access a large number of UMaine's electronic theses & dissertations, full text primarily from 1996-present but with scattered additional theses from previous years. For records you find with abstracts only, you will find the print dissertations in Special Collections.
Access nearly 600,000 European theses and dissertations.
Find Grants for Research or Creative Projects
Fogler has an online guide to finding funding for research and creative projects. You'll find proposal writing resources, open access publishing options (including Digital Commons and Maine Dataverse), and powerful grantseeking databases. Grants 101 workshops take place throughout the year - contact Jen Bonnet with any questions.