Skip to main content
Banner Image

News Research: Maine News (current & historical)

Research resources for the study of news and the popular the press.

Maine

University of Maine Campus Newspaper

The Maine Campus - daily coverage of news related to the campus and the town of Orono

The Maine Campus Archives - back issues of The Maine Campus, dating to 2001

Online Newspapers

Maine Newsstand
Index to and full text coverage of five Maine newspapers: Bangor Daily News, 7/1/1993-present; Kennebec Journal (Augusta), 8/21/2005-present); Portland Press Herald, 9/30/1995-present; Sun Journal (Lewiston), 1/26/2006-present; Morning Sentinel (Waterville), 8/21/2005-present. Selected business coverage of the Maine Times (2/4/94-4/25/02) is also included. There is selective coverage of some earlier years, and some gaps in the coverage listed above, for these titles; consult the ProQuest title list for more information. Updated daily. 

Maine News Index Online
Created by the Portland Public Library, the Maine News Index Online is a database of Maine newspaper and magazine citations and abstracts. The library's Portland Room, which houses special collections, maintains a web page listing titles indexed.

NewspaperArchive
Full-text, keyword-searchable image database of U.S. and international newspapers. Access is restricted to computers located within Fogler Library.
Coverage of Maine newspapers includes:

  • AUGUSTA: Daily Kennebec Journal, 1870-1976
  • AUGUSTA: Kennebec Journal, 1972-1977
  • BANGOR: Bangor Daily Whig & Courier, 1837-1900
  • BIDDEFORD: Journal Tribune, 2007
  • BIDDEFORD: York County Weekend, 2007
  • LEWISTON: Lewiston Evening Journal, 1972
  • PORTLAND: Portland Press Herald, 1947-1951
  • PORTLAND: Portland Sunday Telegram and Sunday Press Herald, 1947-1951

Proquest Newsstand
Full text of Maine newspapers. Database includes Bangor Daily News (1992+), Portland Press Herald (1995+), and selected business coverage from Maine Times (1994-2002) and Central Maine Morning Sentinel (1993-1997).

Casco Bay Weekly
Online historical archive of this free and independent news weekly from Portland, Maine that ran from 1988-2004.

Digital Archives of Old Town Public Library 
Historical archive of several local newspapers. Searchable by keywords, and then able to limit by newspaper title and date. Titles include:

  • Penobscot Times 
  • The Old Town Enterprise 
  • Old Town-Orono Times 
  • Old Town Enterprise 
  • Orono News 

Digital Archives of the Fort Fairfield Public Library
Historical archive of several local newspapers. 

Digital Archives of the Mark and Emily Turner Memorial Library
Historical archive of several local newspapers. 

Digital Archives of the Bridgton Public Library
Historical archive of several local newspapers. 

Digital Archives of the Springvale Public Library and Goodall Memorial Library
Historical archive of several local newspapers. 

Digital Archives of the Scarborough Public Library
Historical archive of several local newspapers. 

Digital Archives of the Walter TA Hansen Memorial Library
Historical archive of several local newspapers. 

Digital Archives of the Skidompha Memorial Library
Historical archive of several local newspapers. 

Digital Archives of the Thompson Free Library
Historical archive of several local newspapers. 

Newspapers in Print or Microform

Many Maine newspapers are available on microfilm in the Government Documents and Microform area of the Fogler Library.  They can be viewed in the library on the first floor.

Special Collections houses paper copies of some Maine newspapers in the Library Annex.  These newspapers can be made available for researchers with advance notice of one week.  Because of the fragile nature of most papers, photocopying is generally not allowed.  In many cases, the holdings include only a few scattered issues of a particular newspaper.  Please call ahead to be sure the issue you are looking for is here.

Look here for a list of these Maine newspapers:

For holdings of current Maine newspapers check URSUS.

5729 Fogler Library · University of Maine · Orono, ME 04469-5729 ; (207) 581-1673

Chat is offline. Contact the library.