Technical Support for Library Staff: Who for What (and When): Technical Support

Access Permissions | Internal Resources | External Resources | Patron Guides | Weekend & Evening Support

Internal Hardware Contacts

Jessica Wade, 207.581.1746  fogler.support@maine.edu or use the IT Support Form

• Classroom laptops
• Public printer—Help Desk IT Staff
• Public workstations
• Staff printer issues
• Staff workstation and laptop-related issues
  • Security issues (passwords, viruses, and spyware)
  • Auxiliary hardware (monitor, mouse, keyboard, disc drives, projectors, etc.)
  • Software applications (excepting Expression Web features)
  • Access to library network (e.g. S-Share drive; U:Users drive)
• Wireless access
• Viscosity Issue (VPN)

Access Permissions

• Request access to Library18 web server, SharePoint, and listserv
  • Contact Joey Collard joseph.collard@maine.edu

Internal Resource Contacts

• Subscribed Orono resources:
  • Ejournals—contact drollins@maine.edu
  • Ebooks—contact drollins@maine.edu
  • Databases—contact  drollins@maine.edu
  • For the above three resources please cc: drollins@maine.edu
• Fogler Web (WordPress Platform):
  • Content issues (e.g. broken links, updates, errors)—gregory.t.curtis@maine.edu 
  • Server Issues (e.g. 404 errors, SSL errors, etc.)—joseph.collard@maine.edu
• Digital Commons
  • Content issues (e.g., broken links, updates, errors)—Kimberly.Sawtelle@maine.edu 
• Libguides:
  • Nancy Lewis lewis@maine.edu
• ArchiveSpace
  • Beth Russell elizabeth.russell1@maine.edu
• ILLiad
  • Joe McGraw joseph.a.mcgraw@maine.edu
• Ares (electronic reserves)
  • Peter Lawrence peter.lawrenceiii@maine.edu 

External Resource Contacts

• URSUS
  • Web OPAC interface—Submit a support ticket at https://maineinfonet.freshdesk.com/support/login or email support@maineinfonet.org*
  • Twitter link http://twitter.com/maineinfonet
  • Orono resource with bib record discovery or display issue (e.g. call number or alternate title) contact cason.snow@maine.edu (will forward to MIN as needed)
• Fogler Web
  • Outages: Email details to webtech_critical@rt_maine.edu (webtech[underscore]critical@rt[underscore]maine[dot]edu)(as of Jan. 4, 2017 under the WordPress platform)
• Mariner Web——Submit a support ticket at https://maineinfonet.freshdesk.com/support/login or email support@maineinfonet.org


• Subscribed UMS (University of Maine System) or Statewide database——Submit a support ticket at https://maineinfonet.freshdesk.com/support/login or email support@maineinfonet.org*

Not sure if database is System or Statewide? Click the I (Information icon) next to the database listing. On resulting screen look for "Locations" information. If multiple campuses listed than MaineInfonet should be contacted. 

Weekend and Evening Support

• URSUS, Proxy server, UMS (University of Maine System) or Statewide databases
  • Contact James Jackson Sanborn at 207.866.0240.
  • Orono servers (e.g. Fogler Web) Joey Collard joseph.collard@maine.edu 207.581.1580
  • Internal Services Deb Rollins drollins@maine.edu. If resource (database, ejournal) issues comes up outside office hours keep these options in mind to assist on the spot:
• Go to Electronic journals: Full Text (EBSCOhost Electronic Journals Service) from Indexes & Databases and
  search for the title OR
• If the title is not, for now, in our ejournal portal:
  • Figure out who is publishing it (e.g. Springer)
  • Go to the publisher link on the Indexes page (e.g. SpringerLink) or
  • Link to the publisher site for the journal you want and see whether you can view content.

Remote Resource Guides for Patrons

• Troubleshooting Access to Online Resources: Common Issues
• Mariner: Remote Access for Indexes and Databases
• Mariner: Recommended Browser Settings
• Mariner: MaineCard Barcode Issues

Information generally needed to expedite resolution of a problem

• Access Quick Tips Tab at the top of the page

*If you wish to set the priority level of a request for technical assistance or check the history on a reported issue, use the MaineInfonet Ticketing system instead of emailing.

Contact: um.library.technical.services@maine.edu