This page will provide you with resources and strategies to locate advertisements for analysis in Dr. Shreiber's course. Each archive listed below has its strengths and limitations. Try several to see what each has to offer and remember to think strategically about ways to search or browse archives that are comprised of non-text based material.
The second tab of this guide will focus on ways to research your advertisements for the Advertisement Portfolio assignment.
This free, online database consists of searchable images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Ad*Access concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II, providing a coherent view of a number of major campaigns and companies.
Information about date, publication source, company being advertised and target audience is provided.
Searchable collection of GLBT-themed television and print ads. From the library overview: "Our collection focuses on mainstream corporate advertising and its incredible power to affect how the Gay/Lesbian/Bisexual/Transgender community is perceived. We collect worldwide corporate ads with direct references to GLBT people or a GLBT theme, including political ads and those from government and health agencies, nonprofits, gay and anti-gay organizations."
Information includes brand, ad title, company, year.
NOTE: The Advanced Search does not seem to work well with date limiters.
This online database provides searchable access to an international collection of print ads and television commercials. Full collection is browseable and key-word searchable, but advanced searching requires a paid subscription.
NOTE: Because the advanced search option is subscription-only, this database is especially good for known-item searching in the simple search box, i.e., searching for an ad or company you know interests you. Information about the ad itself is provided (e.g., creator, date, publication).
EAA presents over 9,000 images that illustrate the rise of consumer culture, especially after the American Civil War, and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States. Ads run from 1850-1920.
Includes information on the company, date, location and/or publication (when available).
Truth in Advertising, Inc. (TINA.org) is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization based in Madison, CT, whose mission is to be the go-to online resource dedicated to empowering consumers to protect themselves and one another against false advertising and deceptive marketing.
The Vogue Archive is a complete searchable archive of the magazine American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the most recent month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images.
You can limit your search to ads only, and search for terms in ads (to a degree. especially text-based ads). You can then situate ads in context with the rest of the issue, or consider the history of the ads used in the publication by browsing previous issues.
You may want to search for ads in a given time period of interest or related to concepts in your readings, such as gender or race.
Other Archives on the Open Web
If you'd like to browse for ads from particular magazines of interest to you, or from particular time periods, these may be of interest.
The Political TV Ad Archive collects political ads in the 2016 election. In addition to tracking airings across key primary states, the collection includes ads that may air elsewhere or exclusively on social media.