Skip to main content
Banner Image

Forest Resources: Parks, Recreation, and Tourism

Getting Started

Welcome to the Parks, Recreation and Tourism Research Guide! 

There are 3 main sections:

  • Books - This section includes New Titles and a list of Subject Headings that can be used to aid in a literature search. 
  • Articles and Databases - This section includes a list of e-journals by title as well as links to relevant databases. 
  • Reference - This section includes Dictionaries & Encyclopedias as well as Handbooks and Other Info Sources. 

Remember, this guide is not an exhaustive list of resources. If you have any questions contact Rachel Knapp (rachel.a.knapp@maine.edu) or any of the librarians at the Fogler Library for help. 

Subject Headings

Try searching under these Library of Congress Subject headings in the Library Catalog to find additional resources:

Agritourism.

Camping -- Environmental Aspects.

Culture and tourism. 

Ecotourism.

Hunting. 

Leisure. 

Low-impact camping. 

Natural parks and reserves -- Management. 

Natural parks and reserves -- Public use. 

Outdoor recreation.

Outdoor recreation -- Maine.

Outdoor recreation -- Management. 

Parks -- Facilities -- Management

Parks -- Facilities -- Planning.

Parks -- Planning. 

Recreation areas -- Public use. 

Recreation areas -- Management. 

Tourism -- Environmental aspects. 

Tourism -- Management. 

Trails -- Design and construction. 

 

 

Databases

Reference Librarian

Rachel Knapp's picture
Rachel Knapp
Contact:
Reference Services
Fogler Library, 1st Floor
University of Maine
207-581-1697

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Use dictionaries and encyclopedias to learn about a topic and to find keywords and subject terms to use when searching databases.

5729 Fogler Library · University of Maine · Orono, ME 04469-5729 ; (207) 581-1673

Chat is offline. Contact the library.