Skip to main content
Banner Image

Industry Analysis - Data Sources: Selected Data Sources for Industry Analysis

Selected Data for Industry Analysis

In General

Federal Statistics Agencies: http://fedstats.sites.usa.gov/agencies/

Over 100 agencies engaged in the production and dissemination of official federal statistics, expect for general statistics information listed below, search specific industry statistic agencies to find more data. For example, more airline statistics are available from Bureau of Transportation Statistics, airline and airports statistics.

US Census Bureau - U.S. Department of Commerce

US Census Bureau has more than 60 surveys and programs on business and industries. The Industry Statistics Portal guides you to find the specific surveys for the NAICS industries. For the availability of the datasheets in American Factfinder, please find it at Economic Census: [Finding Economic Data By Geography].

A full list of all possible topics covered by economic data in American Factfinder (AFF). The topics are split into 11 separate categories. Each topic will take you directly in AFF and display a list of available tables for that topic. To view data place a check next to each table and click view. Each table will load to a prefilter view. To add specific geographies and industry codes use the search menu's in AFF before

Bureau of Economic Analysis - U.S. Department of Commerce

It includes annual industry accounts (GDP by industry and annual input-output accounts), benchmark input-output Accounts; and US travel and tourism satellite accounts.

Bureau of Labor Statistics – U.S. Department of Labor

An Index to the Industry Resources from Bureau of Labor Statistics. The list of industries is arranged in North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) code order. It covers the topics include workforce Statistics, Earnings and Hours, Fatalities, Injuries, and Illnesses, Prices, Workplace Trends, etc.

The National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) - leading nonprofit economic research organization.

It provides links to the major economic indicator sources; updated on daily basis

Selected Data for Industry Structure Analysis

  • Number of Establishments, Employment, Annual payroll by industry, employee size and location

Source: County Business Patterns  (US Census Bureau);
Finding Data: From the [main] page, view the data in tables or download the data, or access the data from American Factfinders by clicking [New American Factfinders].

Source: Statistics of U.S. Businesses (US Census Bureau);
Finding Data: Download the excel sheet tabulated by Enterprise Employment Size

  • Firm/Establishment Age, Entry/Exit No./ Rate, Job Creation by firm size, state and industry

Source: Business Dynamics Statistics (US Census Bureau);
Finding Data: from the [Data] page, click [Firm Characteristics Data Tables] or [Establishment Characteristics Data Tables].

  • Gross Domestic Product (GDP) by Industry

Source: Gross-Domestic-Product-(GDP)-by-Industry Data (Bureau of Economic Analysis);
Finding Data: download the XLSX sheet from the website

  • Production and Use of Commodities by Industry

Source: Input-Output Accounts Data (Bureau of Economic Analysis);
Finding Data: download from the website

  • Product Line and Revenue by Industry

Source: Economic Census (US Census Bureau);
Finding Data: from American Factfinder, choose topics - dataset: 2012 Economic Census; refine your search result by entering topic “product lines“ and browse the list.

  • Exports & Imports by NAICS Commodities 

Source: USA Trade Online (Foreign Trade Division of the U.S. Census Bureau) Provides specific U.S. export and import information on more than 18,000 commodities worldwide. Includes 2- through 10- digit HS detail for both import and export commodities including: monthly data dating back to January 2002, cumulative year to date data dating back to 2002, annual data dating back to 1992, and district-level data;
Finding Data: Access the database using the ID and password for UMaine users.

Source: Foreign Trade: State Trade Data (Foreign Trade Division of the U.S. Census Bureau).
Finding Data: follow the links to locate the data sets.

Source: Exports from Manufacturing (US Census Bureau)
Finding Data: Download Excel sheet and browse by tables. Table 4 includes detailed data for states and industries.

  • Concentration Ratios & Herfindahl-Hirschman Index (HHI) by industry

Source: Economic Census: Concentration Ratios (US Census Bureau); All of these reports classify industries by the percent of output accounted for by the largest 4, 8, 20 and 50 companies. Only the manufacturing reports include the Herfindahl-Hirschman Index. 
Finding Data: follow the labels in the page to find PDF or data in American Factfinder or use another similar page.

  • Merger Transaction Statistics by industry from Pre-merger notification Program

Source: Annual Competition Reports (Federal Trade Commission);
Finding Data: check the exhibit statistics tables.

  • Competition Enforcement Cases by Industry

Source: FTC Competition Enforcement Database; Annual Antitrust Enforcement Activities Reports (1999-2008);
Finding Data: search cases by industry and competition topics.

Selected Data for Business Conduct Analysis

  • Business Expenditures (including advertising/promotion, Labor Cost and many more)

Retail Trade Industries

Source: Monthly & Annual Retail Trade (US Census Bureau) - Latest Annual Retail Trade Report - Latest Detailed Operating Expenses (Annual (2013) will be released on March 6, 2015)

Whole Sale Industries

Source: Monthly & Annual Wholesale Trade (US Census Bureau) - Latest Annual Wholesale Trade Report - Annual Wholesale Trade Survey – 2012 (Annual (2013) will be released on February 27, 2015): including Detailed Operating Expenses, of U.S. Merchant Wholesalers, except MSBOs;

Service Industries

Source: Annual & Quarterly Services (US Census Bureau) - Latest Annual Services Report - Table 5: Estimated Selected Expenses for Employer Firms: 2007 through 2013

Manufacturing Industries

Source: Annual Survey of Manufactures (US Census Bureau);
Finding Data: from American Factfinder, choose topics - dataset:  2011 Annual Survey of Manufactures; from the list, find [General Statistics: Statistics for Industry Groups and Industries: 2011 REFRESH]

Mining, Construction, Manufacturing Industries
Source: Economic Census 2012 (US Census Bureau).
Finding Data: from American Factfinder, choose topics - dataset:  2012 Economic Census and search in topic or table name: “Detailed Statistics by Industry”

  • Research and Development (R&D) Expenses

Source: Business Research and Development and Innovation: 2011 (National Science Foundation).
Finding Data: expand data tables and find the data on the list.

Selected Data for Industry Performance Analysis

  • Industry revenue, sales, net income, and financial ratios

Source: US Census Bureau

Manufacturing, Mining, Trade, and Selected Service Industries

Source: Quarterly Financial Report (US Census Bureau), includes sales and profits and profits after tax data for above industries

Finding Data: Option 1: from historical QFR data page, choose the format PDF or Excel; select the year and quarter and click submit; Option 2: Use TIME SERIES / TREND CHARTS , and select Report: Quarterly Financial Report; select specific industry and then select net sales, receipts, or operating revenue, click Get Data

Retail Trade Industries

Source: Monthly & Annual Retail Trade (US Census Bureau). Advance Monthly or Monthly Retail Trade Report à Retail and Food Services Sales; Retail Inventories and Inventories/Sales Ratios; Latest Annual Retail Trade Report àSales; Gross Margin; and E-commerce report etc.

Whole Sale Industries

Source: Monthly & Annual Wholesale Trade (US Census Bureau). Latest Monthly Wholesale Trade Report or Latest Annual Wholesale Trade Report 2012 (Annual (2013) will be released on February 27, 2015): including Sales and Inventories of U.S. Merchant Wholesalers; Purchases and Gross Margins of U.S. Merchant Wholesalers;

Service Industries

Source: Annual & Quarterly Services (US Census Bureau) - Latest Annual Services Report àTable 4: Estimated Sources of Revenue for Employer Firms: 2010 through 2013; Table 1: Estimated Revenue for Employer and Nonemployer Firms: 2007 through 2013; Table 8: Estimated Revenue by Product and Class of Customer for Employer Firms: 2010 through 2013 and more.

Manufacturing Industries
Source: Annual Survey of Manufactures (US Census Bureau);
Finding Data: from American Factfinder, choose topics - dataset:  2011 Annual Survey of Manufactures; from the list, find [General Statistics: Statistics for Industry Groups and Industries: 2011 REFRESH]

Mining, Construction, Manufacturing Industries
Source: Economic Census 2012 (US Census Bureau).
Finding Data: from American Factfinder, choose topics - dataset:  2012 Economic Census and search in topic or table name: “Detailed Statistics by Industry”

Source: IRS

Source: 2015 Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios (Wolter Kluwers)
Fining Data: use in library the print version (call number: Ref HF5681.R25 A45) and CD. The data is computed from the Department of Treasury, Internal Revenue Service’s statistical sampling of the tax returns of all corporations, including revenues and selected financial ratios.

Source: IRS Tax Stats; including detailed financial statistics for industries and sectors based on different tax forms.

Selected Data Sources for Industry Analysis

Data Content Item

Data Sources

In General

Industry Classification

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)

Federal Statistics Agencies

http://fedstats.sites.usa.gov/agencies/

US Census Bureau - U.S. Department of Commerce

Industry Statistics Portal; and selected visualization ; Full List of Economic Topics in American Factfinder

Economic Census 2012 by Industries

Bureau of Economic Analysis - U.S. Department of Commerce:

Industry Economic Accounts

Bureau of Labor Statistics – U.S. Department of Labor

Industries by Supersector and NAICS Code

The National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)

Economic Indicators and Releases

Selected Data for Industry Structure Analysis

Number of Establishments, Employment, Annual payroll by industry, employee size and location

County Business Patterns  (US Census Bureau); Statistics of U.S. Businesses (US Census Bureau);

Firm/Establishment Age, Entry/Exit No./ Rate, Job Creation by firm size, state and industry

Business Dynamics Statistics (US Census Bureau)

Gross Domestic Product (GDP) by Industry

Gross-Domestic-Product-(GDP)-by-Industry Data (Bureau of Economic Analysis)

Production and Use of Commodities by Industry

Input-Output Accounts Data (Bureau of Economic Analysis)

Product Line and Revenue by Industry

Economic Census (US Census Bureau); American Factfinder

Exports & Imports by NAICS Commodities 

USA Trade Online (Foreign Trade Division of the U.S. Census Bureau) ; Foreign Trade: State Trade Data (Foreign Trade Division of the U.S. Census Bureau); Exports from Manufacturing (US Census Bureau)

Concentration Ratios & Herfindahl-Hirschman Index (HHI) by industry

Economic Census: Concentration Ratios (US Census Bureau)

Merger Transaction Statistics by industry from Pre-merger notification Program

Annual Competition Reports (Federal Trade Commission)

Competition Enforcement Cases by Industry

FTC Competition Enforcement Database; Annual Antitrust Enforcement Activities Reports (1999-2008);

Market Share

Market Share Reporter from Business Insights Essentials Database; Market share reporter: trends over time (Gale, Cengage Learning; 2012)

Selected Data for Business Conduct Analysis

Business Expenditures (including advertising/promotion, Labor Cost and many more)

Retail Trade Industries: Monthly & Annual Retail Trade (US Census Bureau)

Whole Sale Industries: Monthly & Annual Wholesale Trade (US Census Bureau)

Service Industries: Annual & Quarterly Services (US Census Bureau)

Manufacturing Industries: Annual Survey of Manufactures (US Census Bureau); from American Factfinder

Mining, Construction, Manufacturing Industries: Economic Census 2012 (US Census Bureau). from American Factfinder

Research and Development (R&D) Expense

Business Research and Development and Innovation: 2011 (National Science Foundation)

Selected Data for Industry Performance Analysis

Industry revenue, sales, net income, and financial ratios

 

Source: US Census Bureau

Manufacturing, Mining, Trade, and Selected Service Industries: Quarterly Financial Report (US Census Bureau)

Retail Trade Industries: Monthly & Annual Retail Trade (US Census Bureau)

Whole Sale Industries: Monthly & Annual Wholesale Trade (US Census Bureau)

Service Industries: Annual & Quarterly Services (US Census Bureau)

Manufacturing Industries: Annual Survey of Manufactures (US Census Bureau); from American Factfinder;
Source: IRS

2015 Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios (Wolter Kluwers); IRS Tax Stats

Loading ...

5729 Fogler Library · University of Maine · Orono, ME 04469-5729 ; (207) 581-1673

Chat is offline. Contact the library.