Skip to main content
Banner Image

Patent and Trademark Resource Center: Resources

Resources for Finding Patents, Trademarks and Other Intellectual Property Information

Licensed Databases

You must be a University of Maine student, faculty or staff member to access these databases.

In-House Databases

Pub-EAST and Pub-WEST are available to the public, but only for in-library use. They are provided free-of-charge courtesy of the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office as part of the Patent and Trademark Resource Center Program. Contact us to make an appointment or to reserve the workstation. To schedule an appointment, call 207.581.1681 or email gregory.t.curtis@maine.edu.

Free Databases

Databases freely available on the open web.

Database Directories

The above are but a few of the patent search systems available on the internet today. The following sites provide exhaustive lists of patent search systems, both free and fee-based, along with descriptions and reviews.

Official Gazette for Patents

The Official Gazette for Patents is available online from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office for the most recent 52 issues. It may be browsed by patentee, geographic location, classification or type of patent (i.e. utility, design, or plant).  For each patent displayed, you may click the "Full Text" button in the upper left corner to retrieve the full text of the patent from the USPTO Full Text database. Prior issues of the Gazette, back to 2002, are available online from Reed Tech. Issue prior to 2002 are available on microfiche and/or CD-ROM at the Orono PTRC.

Patent Assignments

Assignment data found in PatFT, AppFT and other databases is updated by the assignee and database records will reflect the most current assignee that the USPTO has on record. The assignee indicated on the actual patent or patent application may not be the current assignee. The Assignment Search database contains all recorded Patent Assignment information back to August 1980. The data is updated weekly.

Note that registration of new assignee is voluntary. It is considered best-practice for assignees to keep the public record up-to-date, but there is no law that says they must do so. To further complicate matters, entity names are not normalized nor spell-checked. For example, some patents may be assigned to "University of Maine" while others are assigned to "University of Maine System"; you would have to search twice to retrieve all records, and if any assignments were misspelled, those would be missed in the search. If you wish do conduct a thorough assignment search, you may contact us for some tips for on how to make your search more comprehensive.

Books

Search Tools

Books

E-books

Searching for Maine Trademarks

Books

Databases

Books

Loading

5729 Fogler Library · University of Maine · Orono, ME 04469-5729 ; (207) 581-1673

Chat is offline. Contact the library.