Skip to main content
Banner Image

Stephen King, Writer: Home

Supporting the October/November 2016 Fogler Library exhibit, 1st floor, central hallway

"Hearts in Suspension"

Stephen King will launch his newest book, “Hearts in Suspension,” at the University of Maine on Nov. 7 with a reading of the book and discussion of his student days at UMaine during the turbulent Vietnam War era.

Materials in our Special Collections Department were used extensively in preparation of this volume.  Before the launch, there will be a special display on the third floor near Special Collections.

More on the "Hearts in Suspension" events here.

Freedom of Expression

Libraries support free expression. So does Stephen King. That's why he put his name on the Banned Books Week poster displayed near the Fogler Circulation Desk.

Librarian

Mel Johnson's picture
Mel Johnson
Contact:
(207) 581-3614
Melvin.Johnson@maine.edu
Reference Services, Fogler Library
University of Maine, Orono, Maine
04469-5729

Finding King in Fogler

If you just want to browse King's work (and book-length works of criticism on KIng), make your way to the second floor stacks to the area of PS3561 .I483.

The possible difficulty with this approach, however, is that you may miss some of what we own and other items that are available to you.  For instance you won't see what might be available from other campuses, you won't see items that are checked out, and so forth.

So if you're looking for a particular title, look it up in URSUS;  if you need help doing this, contact the Librarians.  Sometimes we can do the impossible!

Books about KIng, or works of criticism, can be found by searching URSUS by subject: King Stephen.  You'll see a number of subheadings here:  Authorship, Bibliography, Characters, etc.The largest category here is King Stephen 1947 Criticism And Interpretation.

King in Languages Other than English

Fogler has an extensive collection of works by King in languages other than English;  these are located in the stacks alongside King works in English (circa PS3561 .I483, 2nd floor stacks).

If you know the title of a King work and want to find it in another language, search the title in URSUS.  

For example: URSUS, title: From a Buick 8, yields copies in Greek, Polish, Portuguese, German, Danish, Spanish, and Hebrew.  In English, we have print and large-print copies, and audiobook.

Finding Literary Criticism on King

For finding articles, book chapters and dissertations on Stephen KIng's works, first search MLA International Bibliography.  You can search in a variety of ways: keyword, particular work, theme or genre, and in combinations of these approaches.

If you're having difficulties with this or other indexes (see below) or with finding full-text of articles, be sure to contact Librarians for help.

For inter- and multi-disciplinary approaches, use JSTOR and Project Muse.

King as a UMaine Student

While a student here, King wrote for The Maine Campus. The forthcoming "Hearts in Suspension" includes four installments of King’s student newspaper column, “King’s Garbage Truck.”  From the Umaine book launch press release:

The columns, reprinted for the first time, are described by the publisher as “lively examples of King’s damn-the-torpedoes style.” The entertaining and shrewd youthful perceptions “more than hint at a talent about to take its place in the American literary landscape.”

We represent one of his columns in the display, along with the famous "Study, Dammit!" Maine Campus "public service poster."

The December 2001/January 2002 UMaineToday featured "Stephen KIng on the '60s: Reflections of a Campus Activist."

 

5729 Fogler Library · University of Maine · Orono, ME 04469-5729 ; (207) 581-1673

Chat is offline. Contact the library.