WLE 461: Human Dimensions of Fisheries and Wildlife Conservation: Home
Search for Books, Videos, and More
URSUS University of Maine System library catalog, that also includes holdings from the Bangor Public Library, Maine State Library, Maine State Archives, and Maine State Law & Legislative Reference Library
MaineCat Maine statewide catalog. You can place requests for items within MaineCat to have them delivered to UMaine.
WorldCat WorldCat is a catalog of materials held in libraries worldwide. You can place Interlibrary Loan (ILL) requests for items within WorldCat to have them delivered to UMaine.
Fogler Library Government Publications Department is located on the first floor of the library adjacent to the Information Commons and the Collaborative Media Lab. It is a regional depository for U.S. Government publications. We are a selective depository for Canadian, and we have United Nations documents. For many federal, state, and Canadian documents you may search URSUS for our holdings.
Index to journal articles, conference papers, books, monographs, theses, technical reports, and non-conventional literature covering all aspects of marine, brackish, and freshwater environments. International in scope.
A subset of Web of Science. Subject coverage includes agriculture, biochemistry, bioengineering, botany, ecology, genetics, microbiology, pharmacology, and zoology. Approximately 5,500 serial publications as well as books, proceedings and meeting abstracts, technical reports, review papers, and patents are indexed.
Includes literature on environmental sciences, environmental protection and management, and agriculture. Provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
Provides information on all aspects of human impact to the environment, including such subjects as global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and wildlife.
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers. Cited references are included for many journal articles.
Covers current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Provides cited reference searching, with which users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines to uncover information relevant to their research.
A subset of Web of Science. Indexes the complete range of zoological subjects including animal behavior, genetics, parasitology, ecology, habitat, reproduction, zoogeography, evolution, nutrition, and taxonomy
Types of Scientific Resources
Primary, secondary or tertiary sources depend on how close that information is to the source of the original lab research. In the sciences, research findings are communicated through conference proceedings, journal articles, technical reports, self publication or edited volumes in a series on a certain topic. Secondary sources pull from primary sources, and tertiary sources pull from secondary sources. Use the chart below to help distinguish between different sources
Do you use Google Docs to create and share documents and to collaborate? Install the Refworks Add-on for Google Docs to create citations and bibliographies as you work. Users must first set up a Refworks Account.
Index to and full text coverage of five Maine newspapers: Bangor Daily News, 7/1/1993-present; Kennebec Journal (Augusta), 8/21/2005-present); Portland Press Herald, 9/30/1995-present; Sun Journal (Lewiston), 1/26/2006-present; Morning Sentinel (Waterville), 8/21/2005-present. Selected business coverage of the Maine Times (2/4/94-4/25/02) is also included.
Use this link to be able to access Fogler Library subscriptions to journals through Google Scholar. When not logged in you may not have access to much of the relevant literature that you find abstracts for.