Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

CHF 201: Child Development: Home

A research guide for students in Dr. Puhlman's fall Child Development course.

How to Find a Journal Article By Citation

Additional Video Tutorials About Finding and Searching in Databases

How to Find Journal Articles by Keyword

1. Identify Keywords/Concepts

Identify the keywords (concepts) representing the issues you are interested in.
For example, what would be some keywords you could use if you wanted to find out more about how babies learn to talk?

Possible keywords: infants, toddlers, speech, learning, speech perception, language and languages, child development, human voice, vocabulary

2. Identify Journal Articles 

Use one or more of your keywords in the index below to find articles.
 
Click the link below, or start at the library homepage (http://library.umaine.edu) and then choose the "Databases" button.

  • Sociology Collection (includes Sociological Abstracts)
    • always check "Peer Reviewed" box below the search box
    • if you wish you can choose Advanced Search to limit by date (e.g., 2000 to 2016)
    • includes many full-text articles (pdf and/or html) and links to full-text through Article Linker (see below)
  • Academic Search Complete
    • always check "Peer Reviewed" box on the right-hand side
    • if you wish you can limit by date (e.g., 2000 to 2016)
    • includes many full-text articles (pdf and/or html) and links to full-text through Article Linker (see below)

3. Find the Journal Article

Direct links:  As mentioned above, in Sociology Collection and Academic Search Complete, many search results have direct links to the full text of articles in pdf or html format or in both.  Consider the ultimate use of the article when deciding upon a format.

Through Article Linker/360 Link to Full Text:  Article Linker/360 Link to Full Text (it's called by one of those two names, depending on what database you're in) connects to the full text of many articles, but not all.  Click on the Article Linker button or link, and the next screen should tell you if the article is available electronically. Many people get "lost" while using Article Linker; we've developed a screencast to help you learn how to use it. See the screencast here.

Through URSUS (paper and electronic):  In URSUS, choose "Journal or Newspaper Title" in the pulldown (not "=Search Entire URSUS Catalog="). Type in the title of the journal, not the title of the article. This will tell you if Fogler Library owns, or has access to, the journal, and, if so, for what years. For a print journal, you will find out where, and in what format, the journal is located in the Library. Many journal articles are available full-text from the URSUS record, if there is an electronic access link.

Librarian

Profile Photo
Amber Gray
Contact:
5729 Fogler Library
University of Maine
Orono, ME 04469-5729
(207) 581-3612
Chat is offline. Contact the library.