Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

CMJ 211: Journalism Studies 1, Introduction and History: Home

Welcome to the CMJ 211 Course Guide!

This guide will provide you with resources and strategies to support assignments in Dr. Shreiber's course, focused on the history and practice of journalism media in the United States. Need help? Contact Jen Bonnet at Fogler Library!

Finding Primary Sources: Historical Newspaper Databases

19th Century U.S. Newspapers
Includes numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.; advertisements and illustrations included.

Early American Newspapers
More than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states.

Chronicling America
Growing collection of historical newspaper pages from 1836-1922.

New York Times Archives (1851-4 years ago)
The Historical New York Times (1851 to 4 years ago) offers searchable full text, with full page and article images (PDF). This resource includes articles, reviews, advertisements, comics, photos, maps and graphics, editorials, letters, and obituaries.

NewspaperArchive 
Full-text, keyword-searchable database of issues of more than 3,000 U.S. and international newspapers from the 1800s to the late 20th century. Date coverage varies by title.

Early American Imprints 
Searchable full-text access to more than 75,000 books, pamphlets, government documents, and broadsides published from 1639 to 1819. For those looking at news, broadsides may be of particular interest (often used for ads, news, proclamations, or notifications of events).

Finding Primary Sources: Articles and Images from News Magazines

In addition to finding images in historical newspapers, you might want to consult news magazines. Below is a selection of options. Find more by searching for serials in URSUS.

Finding Primary Sources: URSUS

Subject terms are similar to tags, and have been created by the Library of Congress to describe certain aspects of a topic (e.g., the gist of a book) or type of material.

If you enter your topic as a keyword in URSUS's advanced search, you can add subject terms that will specify a type of primary material related to that topic. For example, if you are researching the civil rights movement, you might enter “African Americans” [as a keyword], “civil rights” [as a keyword], and “speeches, addresses, etc.” [as a subject]. 

You can also add date ranges (e.g., 19th century) and geographic regions as subject terms to focus in on the time period or area of interest: e.g., biography AND “19th century” AND "United States."

  • archival resources
  • archives
  • atlases [e.g., Minnesota—history—atlases]
  • biography [this can be used to find autobiographies]
  • broadsides
  • case studies
  • charts, diagrams
  • correspondence
  • diaries [e.g., United States-military-diaries]
  • illustrations
  • manuscripts
  • maps
  • newspapers [e.g., New York (NY)—newspapers] or [Boston (Mass.)-newspapers]
  • personal narratives
  • pictorial works
  • portraits
  • sermons
  • sources
  • speeches in congress
  • speeches, addresses, etc. [e.g., speeches, addresses, etc.--African-American authors]

 

Finding Primary Sources: Government Documents

Citing Sources w/ Chicago Style

Chicago Manual of Style 16th Edition (Purdue Online Writing Lab)
The Chicago Manual of Style (University of Georgia)
Ohio State University Guides to Chicago Style: Author-Date SystemNotes-Bibliography System
Turabian Quick Guide (U of Chicago Press)

Finding Secondary Sources: Scholarly Articles

Looking for a different database? Use the Fogler Database A-Z list to identify online databases where you might find research that addresses your topic.

Secondary Sources in URSUS: Historical Topics in Mass Media and Society

Sample Subject Terms for URSUS
Press -- United States -- History
Mass media -- United States -- History
Reporters and reporting -- United States -- History
American newspapers -- History
Civil rights movements -- Press coverage -- United States
Journalism -- United States -- History

5729 Fogler Library · University of Maine · Orono, ME 04469-5729 ; (207) 581-1673

Chat is offline. Contact the library.