Subject Guides: ERL 538: Current Practices in Vocabulary Teaching and Learning (Nichols): Home

Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

5729 Fogler Library
University of Maine
Orono, ME 04469-5729

(207) 581-3612

Subjects: Education, Human Development, Kinesiology & Physical Education, Peace & Reconciliation Studies, Psychology

The Reading Teacher
This journal publishes research about reading instruction for an audience of teachers. Requires login with UMaine account.
Journal of Adolescent and Adult Literacy
This journal publishes research about reading and literacy in adolescents and adults. Requires login with UMaine account.
Reading Research Quarterly
This journal publishes a variety of scholarly articles on reading and literacy. Requires login with UMaine account.
Language Arts
This journal publishes research about language arts teaching and learning from preschool through middle school. Requires login with UMaine account.
Journal of Research in Reading
This journal publishes empirical research related to reading, literacy, writing, and spelling. Requires login with UMaine account.
Reading and Writing
This journal publishes articles related to reading and writing skills at different developmental stages. Requires login with UMaine account.

ERIC-Education (ProQuest)
Provides access to education materials listed in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. Requires login with UMaine account.
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text material from education journals, books, and yearbooks. Requires login with UMaine account.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Contains excellent citation information in relation to its articles; users can see not only which articles have been cited by other sources, but can click on a link to see a list of what those other sources are. Requires login with UMaine account.
Google Scholar
Follow the directions on the guide to set up access to Fogler full text journal articles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a digital library containing journals, books, and primary sources in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Very recent articles may not be accessible, but this is one of the best databases to check for older materials. Requires login with UMaine account.