Skip to main content
Banner Image

Anthropology: ANT 466/597: Economic Anthropology

This subject guide provides recommendations for conducting research on topics related to Anthropology at UMaine.

Welcome to the ANT 466/597 Course Guide!

This guide will provide you with resources and strategies to support your final research paper in Dr. Isenhour's course. Need help? Contact Jen Bonnet at Fogler Library!

Access to Course Texts

The following links will take you to either the library's copy of your course texts or to URSUS copies of the texts where you can easily request the item from another library.

Locating Books for Your Research

Use the following online catalogs to find books (or videos, microforms, etc.) on your topic:

  • URSUS
    Begin with URSUS, the University of Maine System library catalog, that also includes holdings from the Bangor Public Library, Maine State Library, Maine State Archives, and Maine State Law & Legislative Reference Library
  • MaineCat
    If you want to broaden your search beyond the University of Maine system, you can search the Maine statewide catalog. You can place requests for items within MaineCat to have them delivered to UMaine.
  • WorldCat
    Want to see what else has been written on your topic? WorldCat is a directory of books (and many other types of sources) held in libraries across the country and in many parts of the world. You can place requests for items within WorldCat to have them delivered to UMaine.

Research in Scholarly Databases

The following databases represent a selection of the options available to you for finding scholarly articles for your final paper or review. Many of these databases will allow you to limit your results to scholarly articles or scholarly journals. If you are unsure if you have found a scholarly article (versus an article from the popular press, or from a trade publication), use the following guide.

Looking for other databases? See the full list here.

Citation Management Software

Citation managers allow you to:

  • Store resources for papers and projects
  • Create citations of resources in your citation style of choice
  • Insert citations in your paper from your lists of citations (cite while you write)
  • Automatically create a bibliography/list of references at the end of your paper (cite while you write)

Examples include:

Locating Journals for the Book Review Option

Press Coverage of Your Topic

5729 Fogler Library · University of Maine · Orono, ME 04469-5729 ; (207) 581-1673

Chat is offline. Contact the library.