Covers current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Provides cited reference searching, with which users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines to uncover information relevant to their research.
Worldwide in scope, BIOSIS Previews indexes the literature of the biological and biomedical sciences. Approximately 5,500 serial publications, as well as books, proceedings and meeting abstracts, technical reports, review papers, and patents, are indexed. Updated weekly.
Indexes the broad area of the interactions of organisms with their environment. Includes information on conservation, pollution, management, environmental degradation, and reclamation. Ecology Abstracts can be searched by author, title, subject, and abstract word. Indexes over 900 journals. 1982-present. Updated monthly.
From the American Society of Mammalogists, the Mammal Diversity Database is "home base for tracking the latest taxonomic changes to species and higher groups of mammals."
Mammalian Species is published by the American Society of Mammalogists with 15-35 individual species accounts issued each year. Each uniform account summarizes the current understanding of the biology of an individual species including systematics, distribution, fossil history, genetics, anatomy, physiology, behavior, ecology, and conservation.
How to Access Articles (When it seems like you can't)
There are times when accessing an article isn't working out. When you hit a paywall or an error message, try these things:
Clear your browser's cache. This trick works so well to clear up small technical issues. Find out more information about cached data here.
Article Linker is a tool that can help you find an article you've discovered in Google Scholar or Web of Science. See a tutorial for Article Linker here: Article Linker Tutorial.
If the Article Linker is showing up, but the page itself is coming up blank, you can access the journal directly by searching for the journal title in the URSUS Catalog. Open the catalog in a new window, then cut and paste the journal title in the search bar. Follow the links until you find the journal, and then search for the article title within the journal to access the article.
The URSUS Proxy Bookmarklet can help you gain access to journals and databases when you aren't on campus or logged into the UMaine system. You can find more information here: URSUS Proxy Bookmarklet
If we don't subscribe to a particular journal, you can see if there is a legally available open access copy of the article by using the UnPaywall tool. Find out more information here: UnPaywall.
If you still have problems accessing the material you want, Ask-a-Librarian! We can help you figure out the next step.
