Skip to main content
Banner Image

Theatre: Performance Reviews

Resources for the study of Theatre.

Finding Performance Reviews

Literature Resource Center
Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements.

In the Advanced Search, enter the title of the play or the name of a playwright and filter by content type (Reviews & News).

Web of Science 
Includes Arts and Humanities Citation Index, with1,700 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals.

Type the name of the play or playwright in the Topic line and on the second line, select "Document Type" from the drop down menu, and click on "Theater Review."

Global Newsstream
Full text of more than 500 U.S. and international news sources. Includes The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Boston Globe, and the Times of London.

Click on Advanced Search, type in the name of a play and select Review under Document type.

Nexis Uni
Provides full-text access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information, including hundreds of U.S. and foreign newspapers.

To find reviews, type "theatre review" in the search box and add the title of the play (e.g., "theatre review" AND Metamorphoses).

Readers Guide Retrospective
Indexes and briefly summarizes articles from 240 popular periodicals published in the U.S. & Canada.

To find reviews, type the title of the play in the search box. Change Document Type to Theater Review.

Times Digital Archive
The Times (London) Digital Archive (1785 - 5 years ago) offers searchable full text, with full page and article facsimiles (PDF) from the newspaper. This resource includes articles, reviews, advertising and classified ads, photos, maps and graphics, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries and birth and death notices. Does not include the Sunday edition.

To find reviews, click on Advanced Search, check the box next to Reviews, and search the title of a play of interest.

5729 Fogler Library · University of Maine · Orono, ME 04469-5729 ; (207) 581-1673

Chat is offline. Contact the library.