Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

History: British History

Databases, Bibliographies

  • Historical Abstracts
  • Poole's Index to Periodical Literature REF Index AI3 P7
  • The Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals 1824-1900 PN4701 .H64
  • The Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals 1824-1900 [computer file] Folio CDROM PN4701
  • Bibliography of British history, 1789-1851  Z2019 .B76
  • Bibliography of British History 1851-1914 Z2019 .H25
  • Bibliography of Imperial, Colonial, and Commonwealth History since 1600 Z2016 .B535 2002

Biographical Sources

  • Oxford Dictionary of National Biography  REF DA28 .O95 2004
  • Burke's Peerage & Baronetage REF CS420 .B85 1999
  • Modern English Biography CT733 .B6 1965
  • Who's Who REF DA 28 W6
  • Who Was Who, a Companion to Who's Who REF DA28 .W6
  • Who's Who of British Members of Parliament JN672 .S73
  • Dod's Parliamentary Companion, Annex JN500 .D7

 

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Directories, and Handbooks

  • Whitaker's Almanack AY754 .W5 (latest edition in REF)
  • Steinberg's Dictionary of British History DA34 .S7 1971
  • Abstract of British Historical Statistics HA1135 .M5
  • Second Abstract of British Historical Statistics HA1135 .M52
  • An Encyclopaedia of Parliament REF JN555 .W5 1968
  • How to Find Out About the Victorian Period; a Guide to Sources of Information Z2019 .M34 1970 
  • Victorian Britain: an Encyclopedia REF DA550 .V53 1988
  • Victorian England 1837-1901 Z2019 .A56
  • Victorian Studies: a Research Guide REF DA550 .P76 1992

Library Catalogs

Large-Scale Web Projects

Parliamentary Sources

  • House of Commons Parliamentary Papers
  • General Index to the Bills, Reports and Papers printed by Order of the House of Commons and to the Reports and Papers Presented by Command, 1900 to 1948-49 REF J301 .K6 1960 Index
  • Guide to Parliamentary Papers  Z2009.A1 F6
  • A Numerical Finding List of British Command Papers 1833-1961 Z2009 .D5
  • Hansard’s Parliamentary Debates, Series 1-3 Annex J301 .H22
  •   Parliamentary Debates, Series 4 Annex J301 .H22
  •   Parliamentary Debates, Commons Series 5-6 Annex J301 .H22
  • Select List of British Parliamentary Papers 1833-1899 328.4204 G798
  •   Breviate of Parliamentary Papers 1900-1916 Annex 328.4204 G798
  •   Breviate of Parliamentary Papers 1917-1939 Annex 328.4204 G798
  •   Breviate of Parliamentary Papers 1940-1954 Annex 328.4204 G798
  • Irish University Press. British Parliamentary Papers: Colonies:
  •  Africa Folio JQ1881 .A2I73 (70 volumes)
  •  Canada Folio F1031.5 I74 (33 volumes)
  •  Canadian Boundary Folio F1027.5 .I7 (3 volumes)
  • Guide to the Principal Parliamentary Papers Relating to the Dominions, 1812-1911 Z2021.C7 A3    

5729 Fogler Library · University of Maine · Orono, ME 04469-5729 ; (207) 581-1673

Chat is offline. Contact the library.