Subject Guides: BIO 311 Animal Ecophysiology: Databases & Journals

Databases for Finding Articles

Highly recommended databases:

Web of Science
Provides access to the Science Citation Index®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™, as well as other databases from the Search pull-down menu. Databases and the years they cover may vary by subscribing institution. Covers current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Provides cited reference searching, with which users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines to uncover information relevant to their research.

Google Scholar
To get the most full text access to journal articles through Google Scholar, UMaine students and staff can set up the library links for Fogler Library. This will get you full text access to articles that subscribed to by Fogler Library, significantly increasing your full text article access. Once it's open, go to the Menu bar in the upper left corner. Choose Settings. Then choose Library Links. Type in University of Maine. Choose the one that says University of Maine and then click on the Save button (bottom right).
Now you can enter a search, and you will see a Full-Text @ Your Library link next to articles that Fogler Library subscribes to with full text access.

Notable Journals

Functional Ecology
Functional Ecology publishes research that significantly advances our mechanistic understanding of ecological pattern and process from the organismic to the ecosystem scale, with diverse approaches from physiology to biochemistry. Key areas of emphasis include the integration of genomics, physiological influences, and how evolution and global change shape ecological traits and interactions.
Journal of Experimental Biology
Journal of Experimental Biology (JEB) is the leading primary research journal in comparative physiology and is published by The Company of Biologists, a not-for-profit publishing organisation dedicated to supporting and inspiring the biological community. From its launch in 1923 (as The British Journal of Experimental Biology) to the present day, JEB publishes papers on the form and function of living organisms at all levels of biological organisation, from the molecular to the integrated whole animal.
Conservation Physiology
Enables the dissemination of information on the physiological responses of an organism to its environment or human activities that can be used to better inform strategies for conservation and management.
Journal of Comparative Physiology B
Journal of Comparative Physiology B publishes peer-reviewed articles on the comparative physiology of invertebrate and vertebrate animals.
Ecological and Evolutionary Physiology
Ecological and Evolutionary Physiology primarily publishes original research examining fundamental questions about how the ecological environment and/or evolutionary history interact with physiological function, as well as the ways physiology may constrain behavior.

How to Access Articles (When it seems like you can't)

There are times when accessing an article isn't working out. When you hit a paywall or an error message, try these things:

Clear your browser's cache. This trick works so well to clear up small technical issues. Find out more information about cached data here.
The UMS Proxy Bookmarklet can help you gain access to journals and databases when you aren't on campus or logged into the UMaine system. You can find more information here: UMS Proxy Bookmarklet
If we don't subscribe to a particular journal, you can see if there is a legally available open access copy of the article by using the UnPaywall tool. Find out more information here: UnPaywall.
If you still have problems accessing the material you want, Ask-a-Librarian! We can help you figure out the next step.