Skip to main content
Banner Image

Accounting: Journals

The purpose of this LibGuide is to increase the visibility and accessibility of the Fogler Library collections relating to this course.

Finding Journals

Option 1: to find the journals both in print and online, use URSUS and  search journal title by changing the search column to "Journal or Newspaper Title";
Option 2: to find the journals online only, from library homepage,
search in E-journals by title or browse the A-Z list or discipline list

For Journal Coverage in databases, please refer to next page: Databases

Top Accounting Journals Worldwide

Below is a list of top 20 accounting journals published worldwide ranked according to SJR journal ranking indicators. The data source is Scopus. Click Access below to access Umaine journal records and full text databases.

 

Title

SJR

H index

Total Docs. (2013)

Total Docs. (3years)

Total Refs.

Total Cites (3years)

Citable Docs. (3years)

Cites / Doc. (2years)

Ref. / Doc.

Country

URSUS Link

1

Journal of Finance

Q1

18,440

180

69

194

3.244

1.420

192

6,64

47,01

UK

Access

2

Review of Financial Studies

Q1

12,613

97

70

331

3.361

1.626

326

4,00

48,01

UK

Access

3

Journal of Financial Economics

Q1

11,534

142

158

365

7.459

2.029

360

4,62

47,21

Netherlands

Access

4

Journal of Accounting and Economics

Q1

7,294

87

31

127

1.647

682

122

3,37

53,13

Netherlands

Access

5

Journal of Accounting Research

Q1

5,155

86

40

112

1.825

377

106

3,10

45,63

UK

Access

6

Accounting Review

Q1

5,000

83

75

224

3.796

808

217

3,03

50,61

US

Access

7

Journal of Financial and Quantitative Analysis

Q1

4,743

67

48

171

2.119

479

171

1,98

44,15

UK

Access

8

Real Estate Economics

Q1

2,551

37

38

85

1.371

151

83

1,55

36,08

UK

Access

9

Contemporary Accounting Research

Q1

2,544

50

60

140

3.293

299

133

1,91

54,88

US

Access

10

Journal of Risk and Uncertainty

Q1

2,340

46

27

73

1.146

130

72

1,44

42,44

Netherlands

Access

11

Review of Accounting Studies

Q1

2,253

40

48

107

2.022

184

102

1,42

42,13

US

Access

12

Journal of Industrial Economics

Q1

2,153

54

30

93

984

127

92

0,67

32,80

UK

Access

13

Journal of Money, Credit and Banking

Q1

2,128

61

83

282

2.724

398

258

1,14

32,82

UK

Access

14

Accounting, Organizations and Society

Q1

2,092

73

38

119

3.244

465

107

3,06

85,37

UK

Access

15

World Bank Economic Review

Q1

1,958

53

22

60

779

112

60

1,38

35,41

UK

Access

16

Financial Management

Q1

1,953

41

38

133

1.684

213

131

0,97

44,32

US

Access

17

Financial Analysts Journal

Q1

1,930

49

47

156

752

125

98

1,28

16,00

US

Access

18

Mathematical Finance

Q1

1,909

49

58

96

1.766

152

94

1,52

30,45

UK

Access

19

Auditing

Q1

1,587

37

46

104

3.418

251

103

2,26

74,30

US

Access

20

Journal of Technology Transfer

Q1

1,558

38

67

143

4.073

245

117

1,67

60,79

Netherlands

Access

Top Accounting Journals by US Publishers

Below is a list of top 20 accounting journals published by US publishers ranked according to SJR journal ranking indicators. The data source is Scopus. Click Access below to access Umaine journal records and full text databases.

 

Title

SJR

H index

Total Docs. (2013)

Total Docs. (3years)

Total Refs.

Total Cites (3years)

Citable Docs. (3years)

Cites / Doc. (2years)

Ref. / Doc.

 

URSUS Link

1

Accounting Review

Q1

5,000

83

75

224

3.796

808

217

3,03

50,61

Access

2

Contemporary Accounting Research

Q1

2,544

50

60

140

3.293

299

133

1,91

54,88

Access

3

Review of Accounting Studies

Q1

2,253

40

48

107

2.022

184

102

1,42

42,13

Access

4

Financial Management

Q1

1,953

41

38

133

1.684

213

131

0,97

44,32

Access

5

Financial Analysts Journal

Q1

1,930

49

47

156

752

125

98

1,28

16,00

Access

6

Auditing

Q1

1,587

37

46

104

3.418

251

103

2,26

74,30

Access

7

Accounting Horizons

Q1

1,347

43

42

119

2.047

208

96

1,60

48,74

Access

8

International Review of Environmental and Resource Economics

Q1

1,228

8

0

24

0

39

24

1,24

0,00

N/A

9

Journal of Information Systems

Q1

1,157

11

26

46

1.434

121

43

2,36

55,15

Access

10

Journal of Accounting and Public Policy

Q1

1,087

37

35

101

1.989

181

92

1,57

56,83

Access

11

International Tax and Public Finance

Q2

1,068

30

62

116

2.107

116

112

1,01

33,98

Access

12

National Tax Journal

Q2

1,018

35

9

130

411

99

127

0,75

45,67

Access

13

Journal of the American Taxation Association

Q2

0,940

5

12

32

463

20

28

0,71

38,58

Access

14

Critical Perspectives on Accounting

Q2

0,924

31

82

188

3.088

284

178

1,37

37,66

Access

15

Accounting and Business Research

Q2

0,912

29

29

89

1.876

138

68

1,57

64,69

Access

16

International Journal of Accounting Information Systems

Q2

0,871

30

27

84

1.137

134

56

2,39

42,11

Access

17

Management Accounting Research

Q2

0,849

44

33

65

1.952

154

58

2,29

59,15

Access

18

Journal of Portfolio Management

Q2

0,771

29

66

167

862

96

145

0,64

13,06

Access

19

Journal of Futures Markets

Q2

0,701

30

80

157

2.282

160

148

1,10

28,53

Access

20

Journal of Accounting, Auditing and Finance

Q2

0,641

15

16

75

680

70

74

1,13

42,50

Access

Source: SJR Journal Rankings (http://www.scimagojr.com); retrieved on January 05, 2015; for the details of the ranking methodology, please click here.

5729 Fogler Library · University of Maine · Orono, ME 04469-5729 ; (207) 581-1673

Chat is offline. Contact the library.