Skip to main content
Banner Image

BUA 235/468 (Dr. Jones) Consulting Project Guide: Guide to SWOT Research Tools

News Sources

  • Maine Newsstand  
    Index to and full text coverage of four Maine newspapers. Database includes comprehensive coverage of the Bangor Daily News (12/3/92-present) and the Portland Press Herald (10/30/95-present). Selected business coverage of the Central Maine Morning Sentinel (8/12/93-8/27/97) and Maine Times (2/4/95-present). Updated regularly.

Industry Report

  • North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
    [Purpose & Content] The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy. Many library business databases are organized by NAICS code or provide search by NAICS code.
  • IBISWorld    
    [Purpose & Content] IBISWorld serves the purpose of industry research. It includes 40-page industry reports for a wide range of industries. It supports the industry research for Industry profiles, industry performance, industry outlook, products & markets; supply chain, competitive landscape, operating conditions, statistics, etc.
    [Finding Report] Search or browse by NAICS code. For details, check out Business Database LibGuide and download handbook for IBISWorld.
  • Business Source Complete 
    [Purpose & Content] MarketLine Industry profile contains market analysis (market volume; market value, segmentation, outlook); five forces analysis (buyer power, supplier power, new entrants, treat of substitutes and degree of rivalry) and leading companies.
    [Finding Report] After entering the database, conduct an advanced search in publication type [industry profile] and NAICS code; if it is not available, change the NAICS code to keyword search; you can also click Company Information on the top of the screen, and search the public/leading company in company name search box, if the company is available, check the related information column, if there is industry profile, click it. The last resort is to check the content list from the publisher:https://www.ebscohost.com/title-lists

SWOT Analysis/Annual Report from Leading Companies

  • Business Source Complete
  • Use advanced search option and find publication type SWOT Analysis and industry code; search for SWOT analysis of companies in specific industry.
  • SWOT analysis from Business Source Complete is from MarketLine, and the full list of the reports is available at: https://www.ebscohost.com/title-lists
  • Find business source complete on the list and click the EXCEL format icon under Other Sources and filter the results by Source Type – SWOT Analysis.

 Key Sources of SWOT Analysis content from LexisNexis include:

  • Global Data
  • WMI – World Market Intelligence
  • ICD Research – Company Profiles
  • MarketLine Company Profile
  • BMI – Business Monitor International

Review the document from LexisNexis to retrieve the SWOT analysis report. or Construct the advanced search by NAICS code and keyword SWOT.

Check the SEC filings (10-K) report or Prospectus and find the section that describes the business condition, risk factors and opportunities.  [For advanced researchers]

filings system from US Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC).

Find your Competitor

Find Trade Publications

  • Business Source Complete: narrower the search in the publication type: trade publication or use the filter function to narrower the search results.
  • Business Insights: Essentials  It has a wide coverage of trade publications, and also includes about 1550 world-wide news sources (incl. 330 US newspapers) as well. Support NAICS industry code search.

Books/Journal Articles

URSUS - Library catalog to find books/ebooks

Google Scholar - Find journal articles across databases.

Full Text Databases with Journal Articles and Various other Content Types

Business Source Complete (BSC) 
Total Coverage: 5140+titles (3800+ full text) and 36800 company & industry reports;
Business-Related: 2960 full text titles (1560 Journals, 700 magazines, and 700 trade publications)

Google Search

5729 Fogler Library · University of Maine · Orono, ME 04469-5729 ; (207) 581-1673

Chat is offline. Contact the library.