Skip to main content
Banner Image

BUA 235/468 (Dr. Jones) Consulting Project Guide: Research Target Market

Books

Trade Publication Sources

Google Web Search

Maine Consumers

County Profiles
Online.  From the Maine's Center for Workforce Research and Information.

Economics & Demographics
Online.  From the State of Maine Office of Policy and Management.

Mainebiz: The Fact Book 

Maine Newsstand
Full text coverage of the following Maine newspapers:

  • Bangor Daily News (1992 - )
  • Kennebec Journal (1993- )
  • Maine Times (1994-2002)
  • Morning Sentinel (1993- )
  • Portland Press Herald (1995 - )
  • Sun Journal (2006 - present) 

Market Research Strategies

Books/Journal Articles Sources

URSUS - Library catalog to find books/ebooks

Google Scholar - Find journal articles across databases.

Full Text Databases with Journal Articles and Various other Content Types

Business Source Complete (BSC) 
Total Coverage: 5140+titles (3800+ full text) and 36800 company & industry reports;
Business-Related: 2960 full text titles (1560 Journals, 700 magazines, and 700 trade publications)

Journal Article Databases

Emerald Management Plus
170+ Journals covering Accounting, Finance & Economics, Business Management & Strategy, HR, Learning & Organizational Studies, Information Knowledge Management, Marketing, and Operations Logistics & Quality etc. (very few are available in BSC).

Taylor & Francis online journals
170 journals covering Business, Finance & Industry (about 40 titles are also available in BSC).

Wiley Online Library
170 Journals covering Business, Economics, Finance & Accounting (about 80 titles are also available in BSC).

Springer Link
150 Journals covering business and management (about 25 titles are also available in BSC).

ScienceDirect
125 Journals covering Business, Management and Accounting (about 16 titles are also available in BSC).

SAGE Journals Online
110 Journals covering Management & Organization Studies, Marketing & Hospitality (about 20 titles are also available in BSC).

Ask Business Librarian

Senta Sellers's picture
Senta Sellers
Contact:
Contact me at the Fogler Library, Reference Department.

To make an appointment email: senta.sellers@maine.edu or phone: 2075813610

Primary Research Data Sources

Data.Census.Gov (Advanced search byTopic, Geography, NAICS code and more, any questions about how to use this contact your librarian)

US Census People and Households - Data By Subject

Consumer Expenditure Survey (Bureau of Labor Statistics)
Data Source: Bureau of Labor Statistics Consumer Expenditure Survey (CE) program, which consists of two surveys, the Quarterly Interview Survey and the Diary Survey, that provide information on the buying habits of American consumers.

5729 Fogler Library · University of Maine · Orono, ME 04469-5729 ; (207) 581-1673

Chat is offline. Contact the library.