Skip to main content
Banner Image

Anthropology: ANT 300: Basic Cultural Anthropology

This subject guide provides recommendations for conducting research on topics related to Anthropology at UMaine.

Welcome to the ANT 300 Course Guide!

This guide will provide you with resources and strategies to build an ethnographic understanding of your cultural group, in support of your theoretical arguments in Dr. Beitl's class. Need help? Contact Jen Bonnet at Fogler Library!

Find Books on Your Cultural Group

Use the following online catalogs to find books (or videos, microforms, etc.) on your topic:

  • URSUS
    Begin with URSUS, the University of Maine System library catalog, that also includes holdings from the Bangor Public Library, Maine State Library, Maine State Archives, and Maine State Law & Legislative Reference Library.
  • MaineCat
    If you want to broaden your search beyond the University of Maine system, you can search the Maine statewide catalog.
  • WorldCat
    Want to see what else has been written on your topic? WorldCat is a directory of books held in libraries across the country and in many parts of the world.

Find Scholarly Articles on Your Cultural Group

The following databases represent a selection of the options available to you for finding scholarly articles for your papers. Many of these databases will allow you to limit your results to scholarly articles or scholarly journals. If you are unsure if you have found a scholarly article (versus an article from the popular press, or from a trade publication), use the following guide.

Looking for other databases? See the full list here.

eHRAF World Cultures: Online Collection of Groups, Societies, and Behaviors

Find Press Coverage of Your Cultural Group

Public Opinion Resources: Popular Impressions of Your Cultural Group

5729 Fogler Library · University of Maine · Orono, ME 04469-5729 ; (207) 581-1673

Chat is offline. Contact the library.