It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chemical and Biomedical Engineering: Chemical Engineering
Use these databases to locate citations or the full-text of scholarly journal articles, conference papers, technical reports, theses and more. Many of the items found in these databases cannot be accessed by using regular web search engines, such as Google.
American Chemical Society PublicationsProvides full-text access to 120 years of chemistry research published in American Chemical Society journals from 1879. Also provides access to the monographs in the ACS Symposium Series from 1950 to present, and the C&EN [Chemical and Engineering News] Archive from 1923.
Analytical AbstractsIndexes and abstracts more than 260 scholarly journals, plus standards, books, and other materials, on all aspects of analytical chemistry. Includes foreign-language publications; published by the Royal Society of Chemistry.
ASTM CompassA large collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. The Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering. Includes more than 12,000 ASTM Standards, six journals, and more than 29,000 symposia and technical papers, handbooks, manuals, and monographs.
Directory of Open Access JournalsProvides full-text articles from over 1145 free peer-reviewed journals covering all scholarly and scientific subjects. Over 310 journals can be searched by article title. Most articles are in English. Records for articles in foreign languages have English abstracts.
FSTA: Food Science & Technology AbstractsIndex to over 1400 journals as well as standards, conference proceedings, theses, patents, and books in subject areas including food chemistry and microbiology, food product development, food safety, and nutrition.
Google ScholarFast becoming the preferred starting point for academic research due to its ease of use and comprehensive indexing of scholarly content--including articles, theses, books and more; from academic publishers, professional societies, and university repositories. To insure more successful access to full text articles found in Google Scholar, begin your session from Fogler Library's Google Scholar link instead of going directly to Google Scholar.
ScienceDirectFull-text collection of journals on science, technology, and medicine published by Elsevier. The University of Maine System Libraries have access to Complete and the Freedom Collection, which together comprise more than 1,800 journals, most with backfiles from 1995 to present. There are some ScienceDirect journal titles to which University users do not have access. Elsevier provides lists of titles included and excluded from the Freedom Collection at http://www.info.sciencedirect.com/licensing/additional/freedom/
Web of ScienceCovering current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world, Web of Science is great for cross-disciplinary science and engineering research. WoS indexes only the highest ranking scholarly journals, based on citation frequency--it is generally accepted that the most highly cited journals are the most authoritative and trustworthy.
National Technical Reports LibraryProvides indexing to a collection of more than 2.2 million historical (pre-1900) to current U.S. government-sponsored technical reports archived by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS). Over 700,000 documents are available in full-text format. Subject coverage includes engineering, computer science, transportation, medicine, biology, energy, communications, agriculture, and more. Fogler Library can request that some indexed materials be digitized on demand and made available in full-text format. Contact me if you'd like to make such a request.
Cambridge Structural Database (Webcsd)Includes bibliographic, chemical and crystallographic (X-ray and neutron diffraction analysis) information on organic molecules and organometallic compounds. Includes data from published literature and from private reports.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses GlobalThe world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.