It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chemical and Biomedical Engineering: Biomedical Engineering
Use these databases to locate citations or the full-text of scholarly journal articles, conference papers, technical reports, theses and more. Many of the items found in these databases cannot be accessed by using regular web search engines, such as Google.
BIOSIS PreviewsThe premier database in the biological sciences, indexes the literature of the biological and biomedical sciences. Subject coverage includes agriculture, biochemistry, bioengineering, botany, ecology, genetics, microbiology, pharmacology, and zoology. Approximately 5,500 serial publications as well as books, proceedings and meeting abstracts, technical reports, review papers, and patents are indexed. There are 58 separate data fields that can be searched including author, title, publication source, organism, concepts, super taxa, publication type, author affiliation, and abstract keyword. Searches can be limited to review articles. Updated weekly
PubMedDeveloped by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) and the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), PubMed is a major medical database providing access to bibliographic information and abstracts from MEDLINE, out-of-scope citations from certain MEDLINE journals, citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing, and some additional life science journals that submit full-text and receive a qualitative review by NLM. See also these additional instructions for maximizing access to full-text.
ScienceDirectFull-text collection of journals on science, technology, and medicine published by Elsevier. The University of Maine System Libraries have access to Complete and the Freedom Collection, which together comprise more than 1,800 journals, most with backfiles from 1995 to present. There are some ScienceDirect journal titles to which University users do not have access. Elsevier provides lists of titles included and excluded from the Freedom Collection at http://www.info.sciencedirect.com/licensing/additional/freedom/
Web of ScienceCovering current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world, Web of Science is great for cross-disciplinary science and engineering research. WoS indexes only the highest ranking scholarly journals, based on citation frequency--it is generally accepted that the most highly cited journals are the most authoritative and trustworthy.
National Technical Reports LibraryProvides indexing to a collection of more than 2.2 million historical (pre-1900) to current U.S. government-sponsored technical reports archived by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS). Over 700,000 documents are available in full-text format. Subject coverage includes engineering, computer science, transportation, medicine, biology, energy, communications, agriculture, and more. Fogler Library can request that some indexed materials be digitized on demand and made available in full-text format. Contact me if you'd like to make such a request.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses GlobalThe world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.