Skip to main content
Banner Image

CHF 200: Family Interaction: Family Interaction

A research guide for students in Dr. Caron's fall Family Interaction course.

1. Identify Keywords/Concepts

Identify the keywords (concepts) representing the issues your couple is facing.
What would be the keywords in the following example?


You are a heterosexual couple;  for both of you this is the second marriage. He is 45, she is 28. He has a 15 year old daughter by a previous marriage, who spends every other weekend with her father.

Possible keywords: second marriage, remarriage, stepchildren, stepfamilies, stepparents, age differences

2. Identify Journal Articles 

Use one or more of your keywords in the index below to find articles.
 
Click the link below, or start at the library homepage (http://library.umaine.edu) and then choose the "Databases" button.

 

  • Sociology Collection (includes Sociological Abstracts)
    • always check "Peer Reviewed" box below the search box
    • if you wish you can choose Advanced Search to limit by date (e.g., 2000 to 2016)
    • includes many full-text articles (pdf and/or html) and links to full-text through Article Linker (see below)

 

  • Academic Search Complete
    • always check "Peer Reviewed" box on the right-hand side
    • if you wish you can limit by date (e.g., 2000 to 2016)
    • includes many full-text articles (pdf and/or html) and links to full-text through Article Linker (see below)

3. Find the Journal Article

Direct links:  As mentioned above, in Family and Society Studies Worldwide and PsycINFO, many search results have direct links to the full text of articles in pdf or html format or in both.  Consider the ultimate use of the article when deciding upon a format.

Through Article Linker:  Article Linker connects to the full text of many articles, but not all.  Click on the Article Linker button, then click on "University of Maine".  The next screen should tell you if the article is available electronically, or available in paper in Fogler, or neither. Many people get "lost" while using Article Linker; we've developed a screencast to help you learn how to use it. See the screencast here.

Through URSUS (paper and electronic):  In URSUS, choose "Journal or Newspaper Title" in the pulldown (not "=Search Entire URSUS Catalog="). Type in the title of the journal, not the title of the article. This will tell you if Fogler Library owns, or has access to, the journal, and, if so, for what years. For a print journal, you will find out where, and in what format, the journal is located in the Library. Many journal articles are available full-text from the URSUS record, if there is an electronic access link.

Librarian

Amber Gray's picture
Amber Gray
Contact:
5729 Fogler Library
University of Maine
Orono, ME 04469-5729
(207) 581-3612

5729 Fogler Library · University of Maine · Orono, ME 04469-5729 ; (207) 581-1673

Chat is offline. Contact the library.