It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Civil and Environmental Engineering: Civil Engineering
iNaturalist is a joint initiative by the California Academy of Sciences and the National Geographic Society.
Use these databases to locate citations or the full-text of scholarly journal articles, conference papers, technical reports, theses and more.
Agricultural & Environmental Science CollectionProvides access to the electronic versions of several standard indexes: Agricultural & environmental biotechnology abstracts (1993-present); AFSA Aquatic pollution & environmental quality (1990-present); Ecology abstracts (1982-present); EIS Digests of environmental impact statements (1985-present); Environmental engineering abstracts (1990-present); Health & safety sciences abstracts (1981-present); Industrial & applied microbiology abstracts (Microbiology A) (1982-present); Bacteriology abstracts (Microbiology B) (1982-present); Pollution abstracts (1981-present); Risk abstracts (1990-present); Toxicology abstracts (1981-present); Water resources abstracts (1967-present).
ASCE LibraryThe most extensive resource for civil engineering research, with full text from 34 ASCE Journals (1983 to the present), and more than 340 Conference Proceedings (2000 to present). In addition, ASCE Library provides online access to more than 300 E-books and Standards encompassing all civil engineering content areas, including construction, structures, transportation, geotechnics, environment, water resources, and civil engineering practice. Approximately 30 new titles and selected backlist titles are added each year. UMaine's license is for perpetual access, and E-book and standards are DRM-free.
Environment CompleteDeep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. The database contains full text for more than 400 journals, including many of the most-used journals in the discipline, such as Environment (back to 1975), Ecologist, Conservation Biology, etc. It also has full text for more than 100 monographs, such as Encyclopedia of World Environmental History (3 volumes), Advances in Water Treatment & Environmental Management, and more.
GeoRefCovers a number of areas of geology and related disciplines including: geochemistry, geophysics, hydrology, mineralogy, and paleontology. Indexes over 3,500 journals as well as books, reports, theses and dissertations, maps, and conference proceedings
Follow the directions on the guide to set up access to Fogler full text journal articles.
ScienceDirectFull-text collection of journals on science, technology, and medicine published by Elsevier. The University of Maine System Libraries have access to Complete and the Freedom Collection, which together comprise more than 1,800 journals, most with backfiles from 1995 to present. There are some ScienceDirect journal titles to which University users do not have access. Elsevier provides lists of titles included and excluded from the Freedom Collection at http://www.info.sciencedirect.com/licensing/additional/freedom/
Web of ScienceCovering current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world, Web of Science is great for cross-disciplinary science and engineering research. WoS indexes only the highest ranking scholarly journals, based on citation frequency--it is generally accepted that the most highly cited journals are the most authoritative and trustworthy.