It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
User friendly online statistics portal where you can search for data and data visualizations on a wide range of current topics, including media, business, finance, politics, and more. Data are pulled from both publicly accessible and proprietary sources.
Mintel publishes over 220 marketing reports in the US every year. Reports include data such as answers to consumer survey questions to identify key demographics or target markets; a comprehensive overview of the market size, including a five year forecast; and brand share, category trends, consumer attitudes and behaviors, and analysis on what’s working, what’s not working, and what’s coming next. Users must read and agree to Mintel's Academic Terms and Conditions before accessing the database. First-time University of Maine users will need to register for an individual account with their UMaine e-mail account.
"ANES Time Series studies have been conducted since 1948, typically through in-person interviewing, during years of biennial national elections. Topics cover voting behavior and the elections, together with questions on public opinion and attitudes of the electorate." Currently covers 1948-2008.
Public Opinion Analysis sector of the European Commission. Surveys and studies address major topics concerning European citizenship: enlargement, social situation, health, culture, information technology, environment, the Euro, defence, etc. 1973-
The Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research maintains the world's largest archive of computerized, numeric social science data. Topics covered include demography, economics, health care, politics, social behavior, public opinion.
Annual publication providing statistics, polls, and opinion survey data conducted in 68 countries. Includes single-nation and multinational surveys; indexes by topic and countries, along with bibliography of sources. Published from 1978-1999. Orono Reference HM 261 I38
Journal articles, books, government docs, reports, international agency publications, etc. concerning public affairs worldwide. Search for "public opinion and [topic]" or "foreign public opinion and [topic]" for international polls.
Nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Research areas include: Center for the People and the Press, Project for Excellence in Journalism, Social and Demographic Trends, Forum on Religion and Public Life, Pew Internet and American Life Project; Hispanic Center, and the Global Attitudes Project.
Polls from over 36 sources, including Gallup, Harris, Pew Research, and media orgs. Recent polls listed on homepage; to browse by topic, use links for Politics and Policy, Business/Economy, or The American Scene on the left. Some info only for subscribers.
From Pew Research Center’s Journalism Project, reports examine the landscape of American journalism. "Since 2004, Pew Research Center has issued an annual report on key audience and economic indicators for a variety of sectors within the U.S. news media industry. These data speak to the shifting ways in which Americans seek out news and information, how news organizations get their revenue, and the resources available to American journalists as they seek to inform the public about important events of the day."
Examples of Books in URSUS related to Consumer Behavior and American Demographics
Third-party audited statements of circulation for newspapers and periodicals, primarily in North America. The library subscription allows access to reports covering the last ten years. The database is searchable by a variety of parameters, including title, parent company, city, classification, newspaper frequency, and circulation size. Access is limited to one user at a time.
U.S. Census Bureau's gateway to statistics from popular data resources including the Decennial Census, the American Community Survey, the Economic Census, the Annual Survey of Manufactures, and others.
Comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Formerly published by the U.S. Census Bureau, the online version now published by ProQuest is updated monthly rather than annually. Options to view and save tables include PDF and XLS.