It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the CMJ 103 guide! You are being asked to conduct research to support your informative and persuasive presentation topics, using credible sources. Need help? Contact Jen Bonnet at Fogler Library!
In-depth coverage of topics related to health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy; each report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist.
Search the library catalog for materials on your topic (books, ebooks, videos, government documents). Many book records in URSUS include the table of contents, which can give you a sense of a book and help you decide if it would be useful for your research. Not sure where to locate an item in the library? There are maps on all floors of the library and at the reference desk.
Index to and full text coverage of five Maine newspapers: Bangor Daily News, 7/1/1993-present; Kennebec Journal (Augusta), 8/21/2005-present); Portland Press Herald, 9/30/1995-present; Sun Journal (Lewiston), 1/26/2006-present; Morning Sentinel (Waterville), 8/21/2005-present. Selected business coverage of the Maine Times (2/4/94-4/25/02) is also included. There is selective coverage of some earlier years, and some gaps in the coverage listed above, for these titles. Updated daily.
Articles in agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Indexes more than 1,500 periodicals in the fields of political science, international relations, law, public administration, and public policy.
If you find a journal article that is not available online, use URSUS to determine whether or not the print journal is housed in the library. If we don't have the journal article you need in print or electronically, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.
Top-quality images from the pages of The New York Times. Page also links to over 3,000 historic photos available from The Times' photo archive.
Picking Your Topic Is Research
From NCSU Libraries
Evaluate Sources for Credibility
The criteria outlined in the video above represent a few of the guidelines found in the CRAAP test, an evaluative tool to help you consider the credibility and appropriateness of a source that you are considering using in your speeches. This test applies to any source, whether on the internet, in the library, or among your social circle. Refer to your CMJ workbook for in-depth information about the CRAAP test.