It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CMJ 107: Communication and the Environment: Getting Started
Provides different perspectives on hot button issues in science & technology, health & medicine, education, and more.
Find Scholarly Articles on Your Topic
You can use the Fogler database menu to identify online databases where you might find research that addresses your environmental communication topic, whether environmental restoration, food sovereignty, or a topic of your choosing. Several databases that are a good place to start, based on your topics, are:
Includes literature on environmental sciences, environmental protection and management, and agriculture. Provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
Indexes the broad area of the interactions of organisms with their environment. Includes information on conservation, pollution, management, environmental degradation, and reclamation. Ecology Abstracts can be searched by author, title, subject, and abstract word. Indexes over 900 journals. 1982-present. Updated monthly.
Web of Science includes Science Citation Index from 1900-present. Search by word in the title, keyword, and abstract. Perform cited reference and related records searches. Limit by author affiliation and document type. Over 4,000 journals are indexed.
Try an Interdisciplinary Search Option
Locate Books for Your Research
Use the following online catalogs to find books (or videos, microforms, etc.) on your topic:
URSUS Begin with URSUS, the University of Maine System library catalog, that also includes holdings from the Bangor Public Library, Maine State Library, Maine State Archives, and Maine State Law & Legislative Reference Library.
MaineCat If you want to broaden your search beyond the University of Maine system, you can search the Maine statewide catalog.
WorldCat Want to see what else has been written on your topic? WorldCat is a directory of books held in libraries across the country and in many parts of the world.
Full text of more than 2200 U.S. and international news sources including the New York Times (1999 to present), Wall Street Journal, Boston Globe, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires. Years of coverage vary by title.
Index to and full text coverage of five Maine newspapers: Bangor Daily News, 7/1/1993-present; Kennebec Journal (Augusta), 8/21/2005-present); Portland Press Herald, 9/30/1995-present; Sun Journal (Lewiston), 1/26/2006-present; Morning Sentinel (Waterville), 8/21/2005-present. Selected business coverage of the Maine Times (2/4/94-4/25/02) is also included. There is selective coverage of some earlier years, and some gaps in the coverage listed above, for these titles. Updated daily.
Nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Research areas include: science and technology, energy and the environment, health and medicine, and more.
The IT Center is located on the first floor of Fogler Library, and is furnished with higher-end Mac computers with industry standard media production software, specifically video and audio editing software. There is an IT Consultant available to provide support, troubleshooting, and assistance.
Hacking Google for information
There are many ways to hack Google, in order to conduct more complex searches and focus your results. In the above example:
intitle: refers to any terms you want to ensure are in the title of the web page itself (in this case, that would be "climate change")
the quotation marks around climate change hold those words together so that Google searches for that exact phrase (rather than a search that returns the word climate or the word change)
~coast tells the search that you want terms related to the word right after the tilde (~); for coast, this might include terms like coastal, coastline, waterfront, shoreline, and seaside
The minus sign in front of Alaska tells the search to exclude Alaska-related terms from your results
site:.gov tells Google that you only want results from government websites; you can also use specific sites after site:, such as site:bangordailynews.com or site:nytimes.com
The date limiter can be found in the Tools section of your Google search (the Tools section is linked directly below and to the right of the search bar)