It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Provides different perspectives on hot button issues in science & technology, health & medicine, education, and more.
Find Scholarly Articles on Your Topic
You can use the Fogler database menu to identify online databases where you might find research that addresses your environmental communication topic, whether environmental restoration, food sovereignty, or a topic of your choosing. Several databases that are a good place to start, based on your topics, are:
Literature on agricultural research and related disciplines including: agricultural economics; animal and veterinary sciences; aquaculture and fisheries; farming and farming systems; food and human nutrition; forestry; and plant sciences.
Find articles related to agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Interdisciplinary database of literature from the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Interdisciplinary Search Options
Locate Books on your Topic
Use the following online catalogs to find books (or videos, microforms, etc.) on your topic:
URSUS Begin with URSUS, the University of Maine System library catalog, that also includes holdings from the Bangor Public Library, Maine State Library, Maine State Archives, and Maine State Law & Legislative Reference Library.
MaineCat If you want to broaden your search beyond the University of Maine system, you can search the Maine statewide catalog.
WorldCat Want to see what else has been written on your topic? WorldCat is a directory of books held in libraries across the country and in many parts of the world.
Sample Books of Interest related to Environmental Communication
Full text of more than 2200 U.S. and international news sources including the New York Times (1999 to present), Wall Street Journal, Boston Globe, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires. Years of coverage vary by title.
Index to and full text coverage of five Maine newspapers: Bangor Daily News, 7/1/1993-present; Kennebec Journal (Augusta), 8/21/2005-present); Portland Press Herald, 9/30/1995-present; Sun Journal (Lewiston), 1/26/2006-present; Morning Sentinel (Waterville), 8/21/2005-present. Selected business coverage of the Maine Times (2/4/94-4/25/02) is also included. There is selective coverage of some earlier years, and some gaps in the coverage listed above, for these titles. Updated daily.
Nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Research areas include: science and technology, energy and the environment, health and medicine, and more.