It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Communicating Race, Racism, and Anti-Racism: Environmental Racism and Justice
Below are myriad ways to research environmental racism and justice in different contexts and among diverse populations. These resources are commonly used in CMJ 107 and CMJ 407 (Communication and the Environment, and Environmental Communication, respectively), as starting points for projects focused on communicating and addressing environmental issues.
Find Scholarly Articles
There are myriad databases in Fogler's database menu where you can find research that addresses environmental racism and justice. Below are a few places to start.
Keep in mind that your search terms may refer to issues, events, or relationships between ideas that you want to know more about, such as:
("environmental justice" OR "environmental racism" OR "environmental inequality") AND (race OR ethnicity OR racism)
[this is a broad search that will provide a range of insights into this topic]
"environmental racism" AND health
[you could also search for something more specific to health effects like disease or cancer, or health disparities]
"hazardous waste" AND (race OR ethnicity OR racism)
[you will find articles on everything from industrial pollution to landfills to policy issues]
("environmental racism" OR "environment justice") AND Hurricane Katrina
[this search will yield insights into issues like the long-term effects of housing discrimination and water quality on people of color during natural disasters]
Dakota Access Pipeline and "environment justice"
[this search provides information on issues like tribal sovereignty, and the effects of oil spills on sacred sites and archaeological materials - find additional resources on the Dakota Access Pipeline here]
-From Civil Rights to Environmental Rights: Constructions of Race, Community, and Identity in Three African American Newspapers' Coverage of the Environmental Justice Movement
-Addressing Environmental Racism Through Storytelling: Toward an Environmental Justice Narrative Framework
-The Dakota Access Pipeline and the Breakdown of Participatory Processes in Environmental Decision-Making
-Engaged Communication Scholarship for Environmental Justice: A Research Agenda
-The Flint Water Crisis: Local Reporting, Community Attachment, and Environmental Justice
-The Double-Edged Sword of Sovereignty by the Barrel: How Native Nations Can Wield Environmental Justice in the Fight Against the Harms of Fracking
-Toxic Communities: Environmental Racism, Industrial Pollution and Residential Mobility
Interdisciplinary Search Options
OneSearch is a discovery layer that sits on top of the many electronic resources we have access to. When you search OneSearch, you are searching a range of electronic journals, databases, and library catalog materials. You can filter your results to make them more relevant to your needs, for instance by content type (like books or scholarly articles or news articles), date ranges of interest, or library location (whether UMaine, UMA, USM, etc.).
Search Google Scholar through Fogler Library in order to get one-click access to full text journal articles we subscribe to.
Find Press Coverage
Search for concepts related to the environmental justice issues of interest to you.
Keep in mind that Ethnic NewsWatch will provide articles from sources not covered by the mainstream press.
Index to and full text coverage of five Maine newspapers: Bangor Daily News, 7/1/1993-present; Kennebec Journal (Augusta), 8/21/2005-present); Portland Press Herald, 9/30/1995-present; Sun Journal (Lewiston), 1/26/2006-present; Morning Sentinel (Waterville), 8/21/2005-present. Selected business coverage of the Maine Times (2/4/94-4/25/02) is also included. There is selective coverage of some earlier years, and some gaps in the coverage listed above, for these titles.
Below, you'll find a sample of books available in URSUS, the library's catalog.
Insights into Indigenous and community-led clean energy projects, energy efficiency, and sustainable development. Includes a podcast, "Decolonizing Power," that illustrates inspiring stories about Indigenous and community-led clean energy projects from around the world.
From their site: "IEN is an alliance of Indigenous peoples whose mission it is to protect the sacredness of Earth Mother from contamination and exploitation by strengthening, maintaining and respecting Indigenous teachings and natural laws."