Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Communicating Race, Racism, and Anti-Racism: Teaching Resources

 

Books about Teaching Race, Racism, and Anti-Racism


 


Articles about Teaching Race, Racism, and Anti-Racism


Additional Resources

Anti-Racist Pedagogy in Action: First Steps
From Columbia University Center for Teaching and Learning. Point of entry for instructors from a variety of backgrounds, disciplines, identity positions, and levels of teaching experience who wish to engage in this work. The strategies, summaries, and additional links provide instructors with a theoretical framework upon which to make meaningful, intentional choices in their classrooms.

Anti-Racist Pedagogy Guide

From the University of Southern California. Provides resources for developing anti-racist pedagogical strategies and syllabi. Includes resources that are conducive to assigning in coursework, approaches to teaching in different types of classrooms and learning spaces, and links to toolkits and resource lists.

Antiracist Pedagogy Reading List
From University of California, Irvine. Includes links to readings on teaching at predominantly white universities, teaching students of color, pedagogical strategies for different contexts and educational outcomes, approaches to changing existing systems and structures, and more.

Race & Media Research for Course Syllabi
From Professor of Communication and Media & Political Science Stuart Soroka, and colleagues, at the University of Michigan. Readings are arranged by theme (News Media, Entertainment Media and Social Media), and outcome areas (Content and Effects). Also includes a list of user-submitted readings.

Removing our Blinders Project: Decolonizing Pedagogy Resources
The project and resource list are a work in progress (and we welcome additions, c/o bridie.mcgreavy@maine.edu). Here you will find books and articles that focus on decolonizing and critical pedagogy, critical race theory, and indigenous studies; popular and digital media such as news articles, videos, and podcasts; websites and related online resources; links and information about maps, language, and place names; and other items that are specific to the course and Wabanaki histories.

 

Example Curricula that Address Race, Racism, and Anti-Racism


 

Black Lives Matter Syllabus
Designed by Frank Leon Roberts, this open access curriculum is available for teaching about Black Lives Matter. From their site: "Through our readings and direct engagements with activists on the frontlines, we will ask: How, when, and in what ways is it possible for us to stand in formation against the treacherous legacies of capitalist patriarchal white supremacy?"

Blueprint for Belonging Popular Education Curriculum Resources
From their site: "The curricula were designed with experiential learning and popular education principles in mind, and to be accessible and adaptable to various types of participants. Each of the curriculum modules includes a Facilitator Guide, presentation slides, handouts, and links to related videos, reading, and other resources. Each module was developed through an iterative process that involved multiple pilot workshops and rounds of feedback.  The curriculum was developed by the Othering & Belonging Institute, Coalition for Humane Immigrant Rights of Los Angeles, Alliance of Californians for Community Empowerment, and the National Equity Project, with input from various other organizations and community members."

Educating for Black Lives: Readings and Resources for Antiracist Education
This collection includes a range of free material from Routledge Education, including:

  • research and theory to inform practice and promote research
  • practical applications in pedagogy
  • readings and resources for informal and community learning
  • readings and resources on the intersections of racial identities, ethnicities, class, and gender

Inclusive Teaching
This site from the University of MIchigan includes:

  • information on why to teach inclusively
  • sample activities on power, privilege, and oppression
  • ice breakers to create classroom community
  • inventory of inclusive teaching strategies
  • student and instructor testimonials

Research-Based Resources to Help You Teach, Talk, and Learn About Structural Racism
From SAGE Publishing: "In the wake of George Floyd’s murder, protests across the globe are amplifying deep-seated issues on structural racism and calling for society to finally engage in critical conversations about racial inequality. While many might find these conversations uncomfortable or not know how to start, research from the social and behavioral sciences can help. We’ve compiled a list of freely accessible, research-based resources on the importance of these discussions, best practices for carrying them out, as well as tools you can use to initiate discussing racism and police brutality with your students."

The 1619 Project Curriculum
From their site: "The 1619 Project, inaugurated with a special issue of The New York Times Magazine, challenges us to reframe U.S. history by marking the year when the first enslaved Africans arrived on Virginia soil as our nation's foundational date. Here you will find reading guides, activities, and other resources to bring The 1619 Project into your classroom."

The Shape of Trust
From their site: "The heart of the project is a filmed performance titled The Shape of Trust that captures the authentic experiences of a group of City of Seattle employees, most of whom are BIPOC women. Their stories reveal patterns of struggle, resilience, collaboration, leadership, and change. The performance is paired with The Shape of Trust Video Facilitation Guide, an in-depth guidebook to help racial equity facilitators lead discussions centered around the stories. The facilitation guide is supplemented with 10 detailed Activity Spotlights that can be adapted for small or large groups, both in-person and virtual." 

The Storytelling Project, from Racial Equity Tools
From the project, which was developed by a team of artists, teachers, academics and undergraduate students: "In the Storytelling Project Curriculum, we examine four story types about race and racism in the United States. These are: stock stories, concealed stories, resistance stories, and counter stories... Within and across each unit, activities are devised to move through a sequence - “What? So what? Now what?” (Bell & Griffin, 2007). The question, “What?” explores and defines the issues or problems to be examined. “So what?” asks students to think about the consequences and effects of the issues explored. “Now what?” engages students in thinking about how these issues might be resolved or constructively addressed."

Teaching Ideas and Resources to Help Students Make Sense of the George Floyd Protests
This project from the New York Times, which draws on a range of resources, includes the following sections:

  • The Big Picture: Understanding Systemic Racism
  • The History of Policing in the United States
  • The Right to Protest Looking for Leadership
  • The Role of the Media
  • Misinformation and Disinformation
  • Take Action and Take Care

Teaching Race: Pedagogy and Practice, from Vanderbilt University
From their site: "[T]his guide summarizes some of the common challenges instructors may encounter and offers five broad pedagogical principles for teaching racial justice, and three possible strategies for implementing each strategy in the classroom."

Content includes:

  • Common Challenges to Teaching Race
  • Addressing Challenges Through Course Design
  • Principle 1: Encourage Reflexivity
  • Principle 2: Prepare for and Welcome Difficulty
  • Principle 3: Meet Students Where They Are
  • Principle 4: Engage Affective and Embodied Dimensions of Learning
  • Principle 5: Build a Learning Community. Examples of how to approach each principle are provided in each section.

Wabanaki Collection
From the University of New Brunswick’s Mi’kmaq-Wolastoqey Centre. "The Wabanaki Collection connects postsecondary educators, grade school teachers, and the general public with a variety of resources that support enhanced relationships between all the peoples of Eastern Canada and Northeastern United States. The project is named for the first peoples of this territory—Wabanaki or People of the Dawn—which include Mi’kmaq, Wolastoqiyik, Abenaki, Penobscot and Passamaquoddy. All content found in this collection will relate to Wabanaki worldviews, including history, culture, language and education."

Chat is offline. Contact the library.