It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Computing & Information Science: Recommended Databases
From the Association for Computing Machinery. Includes the full-text of over 40 ACM computing and information technology journals, magazines, transactions, and the full text of all ACM Conference Proceedings and newsletters in full text, dating back to the early 1950s.
Searchable electronic archive of full-text papers in all areas of psychology, neuroscience, and linguistics, as well as computer science, philosophy, biology, medicine, anthropology, and any other areas of the physical, social and mathematical sciences that are pertinent to the study of cognition. Includes pre-prints and reprints from published journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and personal collections.
Complete full-text access to the IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL) - over 3.7 million documents from over 170 journals and magazines published by the IEEE and IET, along with transactions, conference proceedings and active IEEE standards. These publications are relevant to many disciplines, including electrical engineering, computer science, electronics, sensors, energy, aerospace, communications, nanotechnology and information technology.
The National Technical Reports Library (NTRL) provides indexing to a collection of more than 3 million historical and current U.S. government-sponsored technical reports archived by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS). Over 800,000 documents are available in full-text format. Subject coverage includes engineering, computer science, transportation, medicine, biology, energy, communications, agriculture, and more. NTRL is an open-access resource.
Covers current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Provides cited reference searching, with which users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines to uncover information relevant to their research. Includes citations to articles on science, technology, engineering, and other multidisciplinary subjects.
Use Google Scholar through the registered Fogler Library link for more full text content.
How to Access Articles (When it seems like you can't)
There are times when accessing an article isn't working out. When you hit a paywall or an error message, try these things:
Clear your browser's cache. This trick works so well to clear up small technical issues. Find out more information about cached data here.
Article Linker is a tool that can help you find an article you've discovered in Google Scholar or Web of Science. See a tutorial for Article Linker here: Article Linker Tutorial.
If the Article Linker is showing up, but the page itself is coming up blank, you can access the journal directly by searching for the journal title in the URSUS Catalog. Open the catalog in a new window, then cut and paste the journal title in the search bar. Follow the links until you find the journal, and then search for the article title within the journal to access the article.
The URSUS Proxy Bookmarklet can help you gain access to journals and databases when you aren't on campus or logged into the UMaine system. You can find more information here: URSUS Proxy Bookmarklet.
If we don't subscribe to a particular journal, you can see if there is a legally available open access copy of the article by using the UnPaywall tool. Find out more information here: UnPaywall.
If you still have problems accessing the material you want, Ask-a-Librarian! We can help you figure out the next step.