Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

CRJ 219/WGS 301: Policing Race & Gender: Home

Assignment

You will be creating a blog post on a topic related to this course.  To support your post, you will need to create an Annotated Bibliography of at least three peer reviewed sources.

As you are developing your topic ideas, here's a link to a guide on Police Reform that might be of interest.

Statistics

Statista is a database that allows one-stop searching for a variety of statistical sources. The database uses natural language searching (just like Google searching). Here's an example of the kind of material you can find:

 

Finding Scholarly Articles

You will want to use the database Sociology Collection to search for articles from journals. Be sure to select the "Peer Reviewed" option to limit your results to peer reviewed journal articles.

Using the Advanced Search function can help locate better information.  Here's an example:

You may also want to search for journal articles in Criminal Justice Abstracts.  

 

Another Possible Place to Search

Google Scholar may also be a possibility, but use it very carefully.  We lose the ability to have edited, verified collections with this product.  To get the most full text, go to the Menu bar in the upper left, click on Settings, then click on Library Links. Choose University of Maine - Full Text.

Other Tools to Access Materials

Librarian, Head of Reference & Information Literacy

Profile Photo
Nancy Lewis
she/they
Contact:
1st floor, Reference & Information Literacy Department
207-581-3613
Chat is offline. Contact the library.