Your teams are each creating an annotated bibliography of at least 15 sources to accompany/inform your creative project. At least 10 of your sources need to come from peer-reviewed research.
In many databases, you can find a way to copy and paste the citation for your reference list. However, it is important to be familiar with the format, as these services are not always correct.
For this course, you will be using the American Sociological Association citation style (ASA).
Note: When possible, use the DOI for electronic journal articles. If there is no DOI available, end your citation with the pages (unless there is a freely available URL).
Example:
Mooney, Alyssa C., Alissa Skog, and Amy E. Lerman. 2022. “Racial Equity in Eligibility for a Clean Slate under Automatic Criminal Record Relief Laws.” Law & Society Review 56(3), 398–417. doi:10.1111/lasr.12625.
Use the database Sociology Collection to search for articles from journals in sociology. Be sure to select the "Peer Reviewed" option to limit your results to peer reviewed journals.
Note: Peer reviewed journals include some things which don't meet the criteria of peer reviewed research, like opinion pieces and book reviews.
Using the Advanced Search function can help locate better information. Here's an example:
You may also want to search for journal articles in Criminal Justice Abstracts, which covers criminology and related disciplines. Again, you can limit to peer reviewed journals.
Another Possible Place to Search
Google Scholar may also be a possibility, but use it very carefully. We lose the ability to have edited, verified collections with this product. To get the most full text, go to the Menu bar in the upper left, click on Settings, then click on Library Links. Choose University of Maine - Full Text.
While the majority of your sources need to be peer-reviewed, you might also want to include statistical data. Statista is a database that allows one-stop searching for a variety of statistical sources. The database uses natural language searching (just like Google searching). Here's an example of the kind of material you can find:
