Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

CSD 490: Senior Capstone: Home

CSD 490 and the Library

Welcome CSD 490 students! This guide is intended to provide you with a narrowed list of library resources specific to your needs in this class. For a broader set of resources on Communication Sciences & Disorders see the main guide for this subject.

The home page of this guide includes tips for Database Selection and Search Tips. Using the tabs at the top of this page you can navigate to a page on Identifying Different Information Types.

If you have any questions reach out to me directly at lindsay.decker@maine.edu.

Finding Full Text

If you're having a hard time getting full text, never hesitate to reach out to your librarian at lindsay.decker@maine.edu.

Resources for Writing a Literature Review

Find Articles—Recommended Databases

Here is a list of databases relevant to CSD 490. For all databases related to Communication Science & Disorders, go to the subject guide for the department. See the Search Tips box below for help navigating these databases.

Search Tips

Searching in databases means organizing your keywords with Boolean operators: AND, OR, and NOT

Use AND for more specific results
agnosia AND auditory

Your results will include BOTH terms.

  AND narrows a search, finding only results containing both terms.

 

Use OR to broaden a search with related terms
auditory OR hearing

Your results will include EITHER term.

  OR expands a search, finding       results containing either or both terms.

 

Mix and match: (teenagers OR adolescents OR "young adults") AND deaf*

Use quotation marks to keep single terms together. Use an * to include every possible word ending.

Image credit: "Logic Gates.svg" by HereToHelp, licensed under CC BY-SA 4.0, is available via Wikimedia Commons. Nancy R. Curtis cropped images from original graphic, and modified colors to accommodate color vision disabilities.

Databases and search tools have filters. Filters you may want to apply to your search include:

  • Publication Year
  • Publication Type
  • Peer-Review

Other helpful guides

Librarian

Profile Photo
Lindsay Decker
she/her
Contact:
Reference Services
Fogler Library
University of Maine
207-581-1679
Chat is offline. Contact the library.