Subject Guides: ESC 316: Teaching Science in the Elementary School (Klein): Home

Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

5729 Fogler Library
University of Maine
Orono, ME 04469-5729

(207) 581-3612

Subjects: Anthropology, Education, Human Development, Kinesiology & Physical Education, Native American Studies, Peace & Reconciliation Studies, Psychology

Science Scope
This journal contains research about the study and teaching of science at the elementary level. Requires login with UMaine account.
Science and Children
Publishes articles related to teaching young children about science. Requires login with UMaine account.
Technology and Engineering Teacher
Publishes articles about teaching technology and engineering-related topics. Requires login with UMaine account.
Science Activities
Publishes about science-related classroom activities. Requires login with UMaine account.
The Science Teacher
This journal publishes research about issues and methods involved in teaching science. Requires login with UMaine account.
The Physics Teacher
Publishes articles about teaching physics at various levels. Requires login with UMaine account.
Childhood Education
Publishes articles about teaching and learning in relation to children. Requires login with UMaine account.
Journal of Geoscience Education
Publishes articles about education in the areas of earth and geological sciences. Requires login with UMaine account.
American Biology Teacher
Publishes articles about teaching and learning in the biological sciences. Requires login with UMaine account.

ERIC-Education (ProQuest)
Provides access to education materials listed in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. Requires login with UMaine account.
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text material from education journals, books, and yearbooks. Requires login with UMaine account.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Contains excellent citation information in relation to its articles; users can see not only which articles have been cited by other sources, but can click on a link to see a list of what those other sources are. Requires login with UMaine account.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a digital library containing journals, books, and primary sources in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Very recent articles may not be accessible, but this is one of the best databases to check for older materials. Requires login with UMaine account.
Google Scholar
Follow the directions on the guide to set up access to Fogler full text journal articles.

URSUS: URSUS is the library catalog for the entire University of Maine System, as well as the Bangor Public Library and the Maine State resources (Maine State Library, Archives, and Law and Legislative Reference Library). If an URSUS library other than Fogler has material you want, you can log in with your University account and request it to be delivered to Fogler.
MaineCat: Mainecat is a library catalog for libraries across the state of Maine. If you can't find a book you're looking for on URSUS, you can see if MaineCat has it, and you can request it to be delivered to this library.
InterLibrary Loan (ILL): If URSUS and MaineCat don't have the book you're looking for, you may request it through InterLibrary Loan, and the ILL staff will work to arrange delivery of your book to Fogler.
Maine InfoNet Download Library: The Download Library provides downloadable e-books and audiobooks to patrons of member libraries, including patrons of Fogler Library. Most books here tend to be on the popular side rather than academic. You will need CloudLibrary downloaded as a program on your computer or an app on your tablet/phone to use this resource.