It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Patent and Trademark Resource Center: U.S. Patents
All documents originate from the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO), the European Patent Office (EPO), and the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO). Includes OCR full-text of U.S. patents 1790-1976, and native full-text of U.S. patents since 1976 and EPO and WIPO patents from 1978. With Google's Prior Art Finder, you can find documents related to a particular patent application or grant.
Includes PatFT (granted U.S. patents), AppFT (pending U.S. patent applications), Public PAIR (Patent Application Information Retrieval) and Assignment Database, as well as links to other helpful tools.
Pub-EAST and Pub-WEST are available to the public, but only for in-library use. They are provided free-of-charge courtesy of the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office as part of the Patent and Trademark Resource Center Program. Contact us to make an appointment or to reserve the workstation. To schedule an appointment, call 207.581.1697 or email firstname.lastname@example.org
You must be a University of Maine student, faculty or staff member to access these databases.
Derwent enhances searchability and discoverability of patent data by adding valuable metadata to the patent record including descriptive titles, plain language abstracts and more. For details and search assistance see: https://clarivate.libguides.com/webofscienceplatform/dii
The expanded electronic version of Chemical Abstracts, covering literature (including patents) from the mid-1800s to present, plus additional databases listing chemical substances and reactions. Covers literature on all branches of chemistry, as well as related fields.
The above are but a few of the patent search systems available on the internet today. The following sites provide exhaustive lists of patent search systems, both free and fee-based, along with descriptions and reviews.
Maintained by patent information professionals at LandonIP, this site lists many patent search systems, best practices, and reviews written by LandonIP review staff and the broader intellectual property community.
Exhaustive list of patent search databases compiled by members of the Patent Information Users Group, the international society for patent information. This is a good place to identify industry/discipline-specific databases.
Official Gazette for Patents
The Official Gazette for Patents is available online from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office for the most recent 52 issues. It may be browsed by patentee, geographic location, classification or type of patent (i.e. utility, design, or plant). For each patent displayed, you may click the "Full Text" button in the upper left corner to retrieve the full text of the patent from the USPTO Full Text database. Prior issues of the Gazette, back to 2002, are available online from Reed Tech. Issue prior to 2002 are available on microfiche and/or CD-ROM at the Orono PTRC.
If you are truly new to the concept of "intellectual property" (patents, trademarks, copyright, and trade secrets), you should complete this half-hour assessment. It will help you identify unprotected assets that you may not even know you have.
This Guide aims to assist users in searching for technology information using patent documents, a rich source of technical, legal and business information presented in a generally standardized format and often not reproduced anywhere else. Though the Guide focuses on patent information, many of the search techniques described here can also be applied in searching other non-patent sources of technology information.
The Cooperative Patent Classification (CPC) effort is a joint partnership between the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) and the European Patent Office (EPO) where the Offices have agreed to harmonize their existing classification systems (European Classification (ECLA) and United States Patent Classification (USPC) respectively) and migrate towards a common classification scheme.) This interactive web page is easy to navigate and includes all the classification group definitions.
Index and profiles of organizations that produce, process and/or archive grey literature (tech reports, unpublished conference papers, etc.). Resources appear within categories derived from the COSATI (American) and SIGLE (European) Classification Systems.
The Patent Electronic Business Center (EBC) assists customers with filing their electronic patent application submissions via the Electronic Filing System (EFS-Web) and with the review of patent applications in Public and Private PAIR, as well as supporting customers while Searching the Patent and Application Full-Text Image Databases.
Hours: 6:00 a.m. to 12:00 midnight, Eastern Time, Monday through Friday
Telephone: 1-866-217-9197 (toll-free)
The Inventors Assistance Center (IAC) provides patent information and services to the public. The IAC is staffed by former supervisory patent examiners, experienced primary patent examiners, various intellectual property specialists, and attorneys who can answer general questions concerning patent examining policy and procedure.
Hours: Monday – Friday, 8:30 AM – 8:00 PM (ET), except federal holidays
Phone: 800-PTO-9199 (800-786-9199)
The staff in the Application Assistance Unit (AAU) is trained to assist with a broad range of questions and issues pertaining to pre-examination processing of patent applications by the Office of Patent Application Processing (OPAP) and the post-examination processing of patent applications by the Office of Data Management (ODM).
Provides a full description of the class for plants which are patentable under Title 35 U.S. Code, Section 161, which provides for the granting of a patent to whoever invents or discovers and asexually reproduces any distinct and new variety of plant, including cultivated sports, mutants, hybrids, and newly found seedlings other than a tuber propagated plant or a plant found in an uncultivated state.
The University of Maryland has created a database of color images for US Plant patents, with links to the US Patent and Trademark Office full text. Contains images from approximately 1994 to 2004 with updates planned.