Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

SOC 390: Research Methods in Sociology: Home

Assignment

You need to begin a Literature Review on a topic of sociological research by compiling an Annotated Bibliography of at least seven sources.  You may use journal articles and scholarly books for this assignment.  You need to use the American Sociological Association (ASA) citation style for your citations.

Finding Books

Search our Catalog for Books

Search the URSUS catalog for books about your topic . 

You may find that using the Advanced Search capability will help you find the best results.  Below is an example of an Advanced Search using Sociology and Disability as Subject Terms, limited to print and electronic books:  

Advanced Search example

If you find a print book at another library, you can Request that the book be sent to Fogler.  If you are not here in Orono, you can Request that print books be mailed to you; to do this contact our Circulation department (um.library.circ@maine.edu).

Finding Scholarly Articles

You will want to use the database Sociology Collection to search for articles from journals in Sociology. Be sure to select the "Peer Reviewed" option to limit your results to peer reviewed journal articles.

Using the Advanced Search function can help locate better information.  Here's an example:

Depending on your topic, you may also want to search for journal articles in related fields.  Here are some possible databases in Psychology, Anthropology, and History:

Google Scholar may also be a possibility, but use it very carefully.  We lose the ability to have edited, verified collections with this product.  To get the most full text, go to the Menu bar in the upper left, click on Settings, then click on Library Links. Choose University of Maine - Full Text.

Getting Access to Full Text

Many articles will be available in the databases with files you can download.  However, sometimes you will need to click a link that says "LInk to external site" or "Check 360 link for full text."

This process will check Fogler Library's subscriptions for access to the article.

If we do not have access, you can then use our free Interlibrary Loan service to request the article.  Generally, you will see a link that will take you to the ILLiad service, but you can also access it here.

The first time you use the ILLiad service you will need to create your free account.  It generally takes only a couple of days to receive the article.

Selected Journals

Citation Help

In many databases, you can find a way to copy and paste the citation for your reference list.  However, it is important to be familiar with the correct format, as these services are not always correct.

For this course, you will be using the American Sociological Association citation style (ASA):

Librarian, Head of Reference & Information Literacy

Nancy Lewis's picture
Nancy Lewis
Contact:
1st floor, Reference Services, 581-3613, lewis@maine.edu

5729 Fogler Library · University of Maine · Orono, ME 04469-5729 ; (207) 581-1673

Chat is offline. Contact the library.