Welcome to Day 3 of the Literature Review Challenge!
If you've ever searched Google and landed on a scholarly article, or if you've gone directly to scholar.google.com and run a search, you've used Google Scholar! Google Scholar is a search engine that links to materials like journal articles, e/books, government information, white papers, patents, dissertations, and theses. Results come from many different sources, like publishers, institutional repositories, government agencies, and sometimes, news sources.
Did you know that you can customize Google Scholar to provide full-text links to journal articles available through Fogler Library's subscriptions? This approach can save you time, get you to full text faster, and help you avoid those dreaded paywalls that ask you to pay to read articles.
Note: Results in Google Scholar are not always scholarly despite its name (you can always reach out to your subject librarian for help identifying what you've found).
Your Challenge: Set up Library Links in Google Scholar to Get to Full Text Faster!
1. Go to Google Scholar
2. Click on the Menu icon
3. Click on the Settings gear
4. Click "Library links," and then enter "University of Maine" in the search bar
5. Check the box next to your University of Maine system school. For example, choose "University of Maine - Full-Text @ Your Library" for students, staff, and faculty affiliated with the Orono campus; choose University of Maine at Machias for UMM students, staff, and faculty.
6. Click "Save"
7. Now, when you search Google Scholar, you will see a "Full-Text @ Your Library" or "Full View" link next to any subscription resources that we have access to through the library!
Note: Clearing your browser cache/history will require you to set up Library Links again. Never fear! Bookmark this page and you'll be all set.
Optional, Awesome BONUS Challenge: Install the URSUS Libraries Proxy Bookmarklet!
Whereas Library Links is great for finding a range of full text content on the open web, it is not adept at getting you to everything you might have access to via Fogler Library, like ebook chapters in our large ebook collection, online conference proceedings, and even articles that Google Scholar can't find but Fogler Library can (that's right, Google has its limitations!). That's where the URSUS Libraries Proxy Bookmarklet comes in.
What is the URSUS Libraries Proxy Bookmarklet?
The Proxy Bookmarklet allows you to quickly and easily access subscription journal articles and other electronic resources you find when doing research outside of the University's website. For example, if you are doing your research via Google, and you find a link to a resource that is only available for a fee, the bookmarklet will reload the page through the University's proxy server and provide you with full text access to the resource if we subscribe to it.
Let's install the Bookmarklet - it's a cinch! Go to the Proxy Bookmarklet page - it's a quick, two-step drag and drop!
How to use the URSUS Libraries Bookmarklet
Yay! You've completed Day 3 of the Literature Review Challenge!
Excellent job setting yourself up for expert access to a wide range of sources on the web! Next, we'll look at ways to organize and make sense of what you're finding. See you soon!
5729 Fogler Library · University of Maine · Orono, ME 04469-5729 ; (207) 581-1673