This guide is intended to help you find information resources for your final project.
You can search for both books and articles in LibrarySearch, and there are filters, such as peer review for articles, that you can use. Once you've entered a search, sign in with your maine.edu credentials for the most access to full text.
Take a look at our LibrarySearch tutorial to get acquainted with the system.
Other Ways to Find Articles
While LibrarySearch allows us to search all the databases Fogler has access all to at once, it generally gives us too many results. The first three links below are specialized, subject databases that can be used to find peer reviewed journal articles, through the lens of one discipline. The next two links are databases that aggregate many journals, and some book chapters - JSTOR & Project Muse. I also link Google Scholar here, a tool that covers a wide array of subjects.
For this class, you are able to choose the citation format you use, but APA is standard for psychology. Here is specific information about APA style:
Here's an example of an APA 7th ed. journal article citation:
Khan, M. M. (2025). Aaja Nachle: A queer of color qualitative study on psychoanalysis, gender, and sexuality. Psychoanalytic Inquiry, 45(10), 964–979. https://doi-org/10.1080/07351690.2025.2548183
Getting Citations from Databases:
You can usually grab citations from library databases, choosing the format style you prefer. However, as with all citation generators, there are often mistakes that need to be corrected.
Below is an example of a APA 7th citation from the database PsycInfo. While it is mostly correct, we would need to fix the capitalization used for the article subtitle and the format of the doi:
