Graduate students are able to check out up to 500 books at a time for a semester-long loan. Exceptions are Special Collections materials, materials from other libraries that have shorter checkout periods, and recalled items.
The Collaborative Media Lab is located in the Information Commons in Fogler Library, and is furnished with higher-end Mac computers with industry standard media production software, specifically video and audio editing software. Additionally, a wide format printer is available that will support graphic and image printing up to maximum 42 inches. There is an IT Consultant available to provide support, troubleshooting, and assistance during open hours.
Fogler Library is a regional depository for U.S. Government publications. We are a selective depository for Canadian materials, and we have United Nations documents. For government documents assistance, you can email email@example.com.
Find materials from our workshops on information literacy instruction. Includes the information literacy VALUE rubric, research on information literacy outcomes among undergraduate students, and sample assignments.
The Fogler Library Interlibrary Loan Department works with other libraries and information providers to obtain research materials not held by Fogler Library (e.g., pdf copies of journal articles or book chapters). This service is free for students, faculty, and staff.
Fogler Library has a number of lockers available for loan each semester. The lockers are located on the first and third floors of the building and are reserved for University of Maine students and faculty.
Interested in the most recent materials acquired by Fogler Library? You will find monthly lists that you can sort according to call number (or search by keyword). Many materials in Communication Studies and Journalism are located in the P and PN call numbers.
Tutorials are designed to provide quick overviews of services, tools, or research tips.
Key Resources for Graduate Student Research
Search for Books:
URSUS University of Maine System library catalog, that also includes holdings from the Bangor Public Library, Maine State Library, Maine State Archives, and Maine State Law & Legislative Reference Library
MaineCat Maine statewide catalog. You can place requests for items within MaineCat to have them delivered to UMaine.
WorldCat WorldCat is a catalog of materials held in libraries worldwide. You can place Interlibrary Loan (ILL) requests for items within WorldCat to have them delivered to UMaine.
Find Theses & Dissertations:
For detailed information on the Thesis & Dissertations available through Fogler Library, the Thesis & Dissertations Research Guide is a great place to start. Below are some of the key databases outlined on the Thesis & Dissertations Guide:
Access a large number of the UMaine's electronic theses & dissertations, full text primarily from 1996-present but with scattered additional theses from previous years. For records you find with abstracts only, you will find the print dissertations in Special Collections.
Instructions on how to create a permanent link to library resources that do not have permalinks.
How to Access Articles
Having trouble accessing an article? When you hit a paywall or an error message, try the following:
Clear your browser's cache. This trick works well to clear up small technical issues. Find out more information about cached data here.
Article Linker is a tool that can help you find the full text of an article you've discovered in one of our databases. See a tutorial for Article Linker here: Article Linker Tutorial.
If none of the above works (or if Article Linker isn't showing up), you can directly access a journal by searching for the journal title in the URSUS Catalog. Open the catalog in a new window, then cut and paste the journal title in the search bar. Follow the links until you find the journal, and then search for the article title within the journal to access the full text.
The LibX Toolbar can help you gain access to journals and databases when you aren't on campus or logged into the UMaine system. You can find more information in the LibX Toolbar box on this guide.
If we don't subscribe to a particular journal, you can see if there is a legally available, open access copy of the article by using the freely available UnPaywall database. Find out more information here: UnPaywall.
If you still have problems accessing the material you want, Ask a Librarian! We can help you figure out the next step.
RefWorks & Citation Help
New RefWorks (RefWorks 4) is the latest iteration of Refworks from Proquest. It is a citation management tool that allows you to:
Store resources for papers and projects
Create citations of resources in your citation style of choice
Insert citations in your paper from your lists of citations
Create a bibliography/list of references at the end of your paper
Write and cite with Microsoft Word and Google Docs
Legacy RefWorks is the previous version of RefWorks that is expected to expire in 2018.
Legacy RefWorks records are easily migrated into the New Refworks, but these are two separate tools -- separate accounts with separate logins. Ask a Librarian if you need help making the transition!
Do you use Google Docs to create and share documents and to collaborate? Install the Refworks Add-on for Google Docs to create citations and bibliographies as you work. Users must first set up a Refworks Account.
Every department has a subject librarian who is available for one-on-one research assistance as well as individual class instruction. Use the link above to find your subject librarian. We look forward to working with you!
Use databases to find articles, conference papers, technical reports, datasets, and more in your subject area. The subject specialists listed above can help you address any questions about these databases.
LibX is a browser add-on for Firefox and Google Chrome. It facilitates access to Fogler Library resources from anywhere with an internet connection.
Features of LibX:
Gain quick and easy access to e-journals, especially from off-campus, by reloading pages through the UMaine Library proxy.
Turn the web into a library catalog to find out if books on Amazon, Wikipedia, and other popular websites are available to borrow from Fogler Library.
Institutional repository (IR) of campus scholarship and creative work. If you wish to submit your work to the IR, submissions can be made by the Graduate Student Government or by faculty members in your department.
ORCID is an open, non-profit, community-driven effort to create and maintain a registry of unique researcher identifiers. Register for an ORCID to distinguish your research activities from those of others with similar names.
This guide points to UMaine resources, best practices, and tools and support for managing your research data.
Measuring Scholarly Impact
Scholarly impact can refer to several aspects of scholarly communication. Most commonly:
Journal Impact is the amount of times articles from a specific journal are cited combined with the number of articles that the journal publishes - this is known as the impact factor: http://www.sciencegateway.org/impact.
H-index measures scholarly impact at the author level - the amount of articles a scholar published combined with how many times those published articles are cited creates your h-index.
Eigenfactor is intended to measure the overall importance of a scientific journal. Similar to the journal impact factor, the Eigenfactor was developed to be a more robust tool, and considers how broad the journal's contribution is.
To find your h-index you must create a Google Profile and have a Gmail account. Google Scholar Citations then collects your publishing and citation information and creates your h-index. You can choose whether to make your profile Public or Private. When searching for other authors' h-index, Google Scholar only gives access to authors who have created a public profile.
Altmetrics is the use of alternative, or nontraditional, measurements to better understand the extent of a work's scholarly impact. Examples include number of article downloads, item views, and social media mentions.
Learn how to track who's cited your work in Web of Science and Google Scholar.
Finding Grants for Research or Creative Projects
Fogler has an online guide to finding funding for research and creative projects. You'll find proposal writing resources, open access publishing options (including Digital Commons and Maine Dataverse), and powerful grantseeking databases. Grantseeking workshops take place throughout the year - contact Jen Bonnet with any questions.