It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This database includes the renowned AGRICOLA, ESPM, and EIS databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more. For those researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.
U.S Department of Agriculture. The AWAHDC covers the history and use of the Animal Welfare Act (AWA) including information on animal care and use topics, including the AWA and its regulations. The AWA covers animals bred for commercial sale, used in research, transported commercially, or exhibited to the public.
MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database that indexes medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,600 biomedical journals. Please note OVID no longer supports older web browsers.
Developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) and the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), PubMed is a major medical database, and also contains the literature of veterinary medicine and animal sciences. It provides access to bibliographic/abstracting information from MEDLINE, plus out-of-scope citations from certain MEDLINE journals; citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing; and some additional life science journals that submit full-text and receive a qualitative review by NLM. Included are links to many sites with full-text articles.
Springer Nature Experiments is a collection of protocols and methods for life sciences research. It comprises Protocols Exchange (an open access repository); and subscription titles Nature Methods; Nature Protocols; and Springer Protocols, including Methods in Molecular Biology.
Web of Science includes Science Citation Index from 1900-present. Search by word in the title, keyword, and abstract. Perform cited reference and related records searches. Limit by author affiliation and document type. Over 4,000 journals are indexed.
Zoological Record indexes the worldwide zoological literature, indexing over 4,600 journals. Search by author, subject, journal name, and a variety of descriptors and codes which are explained in the database. 1864-present.
Protips: How to access articles
There are times when accessing an article isn't working out. When you hit a paywall or an error message, try these things:
Clear your browser's cache. This trick works so well to clear up small technical issues. Find out more information about cached data here.
Article Linker is a tool that can help you find an article you've discovered in Google Scholar or Web of Science. See a tutorial for Article Linker here: Article Linker Tutorial.
If the Article Linker is showing up, but the page itself is coming up blank, you can access the journal directly by searching for the journal title in the URSUS Catalog. Open the catalog in a new window, then cut and paste the journal title in the search bar. Follow the links until you find the journal, and then search for the article title within the journal to access the article.
The URSUS Proxy Bookmarklet can help you gain access to journals and databases when you aren't on campus or logged into the UMaine system. You can find more information here: URSUS Proxy Bookmarklet
If we don't subscribe to a particular journal, you can see if there is a legally available open access copy of the article by using the UnPaywall tool. Find out more information here: UnPaywall.
If you still have problems accessing the material you want, Ask-a-Librarian! We can help you figure out the next step.